Almond Milk

I’ve had a few gross days nutritionally. Since switching jobs, I’ve not done as well eating (fully stocked breakroom with all my happiest treats!), and I’ve also lost my lunch walk. Everything is so busy that I just don’t get out that much. I need to put forth the effort to walk though, and I will.

Anyway, I’ve long had issues with milk (pretty standard stuff), and after the gross days, I decided I wanted to try a couple things. I saw a report about nut milks, something I’ve always been kind of iffy on, but it caught my eye this time. Courtney has done nut milks in the past due to dietary issues with the kids, and we fed Katherine straight soy milk as a young girl because she could not handle dairy. The report I saw, however, showed how to make your own nut milks, and it’s surprisingly easy (though still expensive). Here’s the basic recipe I followed:

  • 1 cup of nuts/seeds of your choice (I used almonds, but I want to try hazelnuts)
  • 4 cups hot water
  • sweetner (I used about 1.5 tbs of honey)
  • vanilla to taste (about a tbs for me)
  • a pinch of salt

You take the nuts and soak them in water overnight. I did mine for about 18 hours, which was great. Drain off the water and put the nuts with the rest of the ingredients in a blender and let it go. After a minute or so, you strain out the pulp (we used the strainer from our yogurt maker), and there you go!

It came out really watery with a light vanilla scent to it. I think next time I’d use a little more honey. I don’t care for the watery texture (makes skim milk look creamy!), but it works well in foods. I had some with a bowl of grits, and you couldn’t really notice the difference at all.

Because there’s nothing to preserve the milk, you have to use it within a couple days, so keep that in mind.

This is, for me, part of a long-term and slow moving goal to be healthy. I was promised that if I would live close to the Word of Wisdom, I would be able to avoid the plagues of the modern day. What those plagues mean could be any of dozens of things, but if you want my opinion, it’s cancer, diabetes, heart disease, mental illness, and obesity with all the related issues. The truth of the matter is that I’ve done merely okay with being and eating healthy. But over the last two or three years, I’ve made a stronger and more consistent push to do better. This is part of that.

This entry was posted in On the Home Front and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Almond Milk

  1. Lora Leigh says:

    I drink almond or cashew milk right now for Matthew’s (our baby’s) dairy troubles, and I have really come to like it. Gulping down a big glass is still iffy, but it is especially good in oatmeal. And it makes AWESOME chocolate milk (not sure how this will positively contribute to your healthy aspirations, though). 🙂 Good luck! Oh, how much does almond milk will a single size of that recipe make?

Leave a Reply

