Dropping off the face of the earth

I kind of feel like I’ve dropped off the face of the earth these last few weeks. I’m sure we all have that friend who got married and suddenly disappeared, right? Well, that’s how it is with this job. I’ve just disappeared.

And I can’t say this enough… I LOVE what I’m doing!

Why didn’t I make this leap sooner? I am working longer hours than I ever have before with more responsibility, more pressure, and more–I guess–stress, and I generally come home full of energy, recharged, and hungry for more. It’s been awesome, and while I had my doubts about making the jump to the start up life, I’m glad I didn’t listen.

My typical schedule is full days of training Monday and Tuesday. Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday are a couple hours of training with the majority of the time having the agents on the floor shadowing and practicing. That time is where I build new trainings, attend leadership meetings (I love being on the senior leadership team), and mentor/coach other staff. My boss has turned out to be exactly what I hoped she would be–very down to earth, driven, excellent coach, open, and great to work with. I find myself stretching and scratching professional muscles that I’ve forgotten I had or didn’t know I had, and all the while working in my core strengths. Add in that there is enough variety any given day, and I’m just happy.

Who knew that work could be fun? It certainly hasn’t most of my career!

So for all those who I used to chat with, Skype with, email with, and so much more, I’m sorry. I haven’t forgotten you. I honestly just haven’t had the time in the day to take care of those relationships as much as I would wish. I’m still trying to figure out how to carve out a bit of time to do that.

Oh, and one more thing: I’ve always loved Saturday just for the down time, but it’s amazing how much I cherish Saturdays now and guard them jealously! I find myself feeling grumpy with meetings, events, and other things scheduled for Saturday that aren’t exactly what I want to do. Saturday is family time, me time, and play time.

This entry was posted in The Office. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dropping off the face of the earth

  1. Emily Scott says:

    So what is it that you do? Or do you prefer to keep that vague on here? Glad you’re enjoying it so much!

    • daveloveless says:

      Had I not said? Oops. I thought I had….

      I would like to keep the where quiet, but the what? Not at all. I’m a training manager/instructional designer for a startup. I handle all their internal training needs, including new hire, leadership, in-service, and so on. It’s a blast!

Leave a Reply

