The new job

I started on Monday, and to say I’m exhausted would be an understatement. That doesn’t come anywhere near what I’m feeling. I’ve been in training all day every day but the thing is that I’m less getting trained than I am giving training. To give you an idea, the guy helping me has put in 30 hours already this week. It’s Tuesday.

Since the launch last week, numbers have easily topped four times expectation. We had expected to need around 300 agents by Christmas. Yesterday that number was bumped to around 600, and there is talk of needing a full 1,000. By Christmas. It has been insane. There’s just no other way to describe what is happening.

And it is awesome!

I’m having the time of my life, but I get home and my brain just oozes out of my ears. I’m remembering why I liked the longer commute of yesteryear, though. I listen the scriptures and conference talks as I drive, and it makes for an enjoyable, calmer drive home. I tend to get home more relaxed (tired, but relaxed).

Right now I’m trying to figure out how we can create a faster, shorter training program that will handle larger numbers of employees. Our current system can maybe do 15 a week if we really push it. That’s simply not good enough. We need to get closer to 30 to hit the lower end goals and maybe as high as 50 if the higher estimates pan out, which–judging by what has happened so far–is not only possible but likely.

I still miss the people from the old job. Good people there. I do not, however, miss the rote and routine. I don’t miss the lack of challenge. I don’t miss the mundane that was so much of what I could do. I don’t miss feeling restrained and held back in my talents. I don’t miss feeling questioned by management and having my thoughts and ideas be rejected. I also, apparently, don’t really have any issue with airing that out now that I’m gone. 🙂

It’s one thing to think that I just jumped in on the ground floor of an amazing opportunity (both professionally and financially), and that is certainly true. But it’s even better to sit back after two days and know that I did. Work is suddenly fun again, and that’s wonderful.

This entry was posted in The Office. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

