Myron’s New Room

One of the things that really attracted us to this house was the fact that it had four (!) family/living rooms! I love public, open spaces in houses, and this one just had plenty of them. We liked the idea that we could have our formal living room (formal is a very strong word there…) plus a family room for all of us and a second family room where we could throw the kids without worrying about the mess and noise. It’s made life so easy to be able to send them downstairs where they could just go crazy and have fun.

But that fourth one we’ve always planned on turning into a bedroom for Myron. We started Friday:
IMG_20150410_133652445

The best part about all of this is that the house was laid out electrically to add this room. All we had to was put up a wall and a door. The light switch you can see just inside the framing on the right of the picture controls lights that are inside the room. There’s a second switch behind the camera that controls a “hall” light there.

Same progress from the other side:

IMG_20150410_115929995

The room even has a closet already. About my only complaint is that the room itself does not have a heating register (you can see one on the opposite wall outside the room there. To heat that in the winter, we will need Myron to leave his door open OR get a space heater. I’m not in favor of the space heater because I just don’t see Myron playing well with it.

And a shot of the finished drywall:

IMG_20150410_151608978

Today I’m planning on taping and mudding. Next week I’ll sand and texture it, and the following week, we’ll paint. I’m having Brandon (the guy who designed and built this) come back after that point to do trim, molding, and some other projects I just can’t stand to do. I’m not that great of a handy man (plumbing and a few other basics are exceptions), but I can follow directions well enough if I’ve got someone guiding me. Brandon is perfect and quite skilled at handling the things I can’t do. We’ll miss him when he moves from the area (all too soon probably).

Best part was I had Myron come and see it at this stage. he ran into the room, got a huge smile on his face, threw his arms around me, and shouted, “My own bedroom!!! Thank you, Daddy!!!!” He then immediately left to go play on the iPad. 🙂 At least he’s learned to express gratitude, right?

This entry was posted in On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Myron’s New Room

  1. I can’t wait to see it when it’s all finished!

  2. angela52689 says:

    Cool! I’m glad he seems excited about it. Keep us posted on how the actual transition works.

Leave a Reply

