Gallbladder Attack: Update

So the doctor does not want to do surgery. He believes that I can control the attacks through diet (reduced fat diet), and I am inclined to believe him.

I’ve lost about 15 pounds since Monday mostly in water weight I’m guessing. Yesterday was my first day with more or less real food (chicken noodle soup, toast, boiled eggs, applesauce, and crackers). Today, I’m branching out, and I have a non-fat yogurt and ham in a sandwich (no dressing of any kind) along with more applesauce, boiled eggs, and some dry cereal. Tonight I’m going to try some baked chicken with roasted potatoes and a veggie side.

I have, until now, avoided all but trace amounts of fat. Obviously, that can’t continue forever, and I am planning on introducing fat tonight or tomorrow so that if I do have another attack, I have the rest of the weekend to recover.

I’m admittedly probably rushing things a bit, but I’m so tired of feeling, well, tired. I’m also cold all the time lately, which is a sure sign of calorie deficiency. Today is my first full day back at work, and I’m feeling alert, which is nice.

 

This entry was posted in Dave-isms, On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

