Mid-winter Bees, Part 2

I got out and hefted the hives the other day. Both are still pretty heavy. I’d guess close to 50 to 60 pounds of honey at least with Hive 2 being closer to 75. I always leave a lot more honey on than needed simply because I would rather have them survive than have the honey, right?

The number I commonly see thrown around for consumption in the spring is around a pound of honey a day. At 50 pounds, that puts me to March 12, which is right around the time that we see our earliest spring flowers. It’s a little tight, but I can usually sneak in a pretty good inspection the first week of March. I’ll be watching for food stores for sure.

This entry was posted in Bees. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mid-winter Bees, Part 2

  1. Pingback: Mid-winter Bees, Part 2 | the prodigal | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

Leave a Reply

