What to do….

This entry was posted in Mental Illness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What to do….

  1. angela52689 says:

    I don’t know what you’re looking for, but I have a suspicion about what you may be reflecting on. I hope you know you had a good influence when it was needed, and now that things have changed, if this struggle arises again, there are others who can provide the needed support. Don’t feel guilty about losing your influence when a situation changes. Just do what you can with the time and opportunities that were given you. I know you did.
    And I think it goes without saying that if you ever struggle with this personally, you know we’re all here for you.

    • daveloveless says:

      Actually not really searching for anything…. 🙂

      I just think some of the Mormon Messages/Mormon Channel content is spectacular, and this is one that I thought was particularly poignant and that many people struggle with on both sides of that equation.

      I feel like people only see one side of depression and suicide–their own, and I really appreciated how the clip took the time to show both sides and some of the attitudes and impacts.

      As for that, yes, I know I provided the best support. And the truth is that it would still be there if not for _his_ decisions, and I really want to emphasize that… _His_. That’s a price that he has and will pay and is completely external to me. I’ve done my time so to speak. He will do his time on his own time and without my involvement or interest. That’s not a cold-hearted, uncharitable thing either; it’s a recognition that I will both respect _his_ decisions and that I will NOT be impacted by _his_ decisions either.

      I have my own life, I’m very happy with it. I have better friends who actually understand what it actually means to be a friend. And perhaps most importantly _I_ never closed the door. Still haven’t. But I also don’t sit and wait for it to open either. It’s on him to do the finding and repairing now. And that is _his_ decision and not one I care to wait around for. If he decides that matters to him, he has that right. I also have–and exercise–the right to be free of it in mind, spirit, body, and soul.

      I’ve always lived with the idea that I will trust you until you give me a reason not to. I have reasons….

      🙂

Leave a Reply

