BPPV

I wish I knew how I did it, but somehow I’ve managed to contract BPPV. I don’t remember what it stands for, and frankly I don’t want to go look it up, but basically it’s an inner-ear condition that causes your sense of balance to go out the door and be replaced with a near-constant state of vertigo. Bad vertigo. Like I feel like I’ve just done 48-hours straight on a nasty roller coaster that sits on top of a merry-go-round that is inside of a ferris wheel gondola while riding  in a Formula 1 race car.

It’s lovely. Truly.

If I understand the condition correctly, I’ve somehow loosened the calcium crystals in my inner-ear that help me determine up from down and left from right. As I move, the fluid in my ears reacts with the now jumbled crystals and instead of getting a clean signal of direction and momentum, I get all sorts of conflicting signals. Basically, as long as I don’t move, I’m good. I start moving and….

Barf.

I’m taking Dramamine to help combat the gross feelings, but it does almost nothing for the balance. I’ve got some exercises I’m supposed to do as well, which theoretically are supposed to help everything get back into alignment. I’m not sure if they help or not. Without the Dramamine, I can’t even do them so…. From reading online, it looks like this typically goes away on its own after a few days (today is day 2). I sure hope so. It’s gross, and I’m largely confined to either my chair or my bed with my head held perfectly still. Which means, once again, Courtney now has five kids.

Sigh… It seems like this spring and summer I’ve been sick, sick, sick, and I’m tired of it.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BPPV

  1. I’ve heard there is some kind of maneuver to make the crystals go back in place. I bet there are videos on YouTube. Hope you feel better soon!

  2. David says:

    cool, you get to experience ALL those rides and don’t have to stand in line or pay for any tickets!!!

Leave a Reply

