Thinking of Jared

Do you ever have times when you just wonder what someone is doing right now? One of the maybe unusual things about me is that I remember almost everyone that I’ve ever known in some way or another, and I am reminded frequently of them.

These last few months, Jared has been on my mind. He moved away about five years ago after a particularly trying divorce prompted by struggles with addictions. I worked with him and his wife to try and save the marriage, but, honestly, by the time I was involved, it was already so far gone and beaten that there wasn’t much hope. Most of the decisions had already been made by that point, and, well… Sometimes that’s how it goes.

I don’t know why Jared has been on my mind, but I remember where he moved after he left, a place I drive by on my way to and from work. And even though there is very little chance he’s still there, I do wonder what he’s up to.

If he’s found healing.

I emailed him a few months back just hoping to see what he was up to, how life is treating him. I never heard a response, but for all I know the email address wasn’t even the right one. I mean, it’s been… years. In fact, I just looked up that email again. I sent it in November 2013. So why is he still on my mind?

I sometimes wonder if this part of life is one of the ways the Lord tries to get us to seek after those around us. I mean, it’s not like I have a reason to think more on Jared. He was in my life for the duration of a single summer, and he moved out in July of that year. For all I know he’s okay. Or not.

And yet I sit here feeling prompted to reach out yet again. Why? I mean, I know I will, but what do you say? “Hey, remember me? I’m that guy who knows all the dark nasty secrets about your divorce. Want to chat?” Or… “I know you ignored my previous email, but I feel like I should talk to you.” Maybe it’s a lack of faith on my part. Maybe it’s just my empathy going hyper-drive on me.

Anyway…. He’s on my mind lately. Has been–if you go off that email–for at least the last six months. That’s a long time to wonder.

UPDATE!

I wrote him shortly after writing this. I basically said that I didn’t know why, but I felt prompted to write him. I told him that I hoped he was doing well and that he had a friend if he ever needed one. I don’t know why I’ve felt like I needed to do that, but the thought has been there for a long time. Now that I’ve done it, I guess we’ll see what happens.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thinking of Jared

  1. That’s wonderful that you reached out. I hope he got the message. 🙂

  2. angeladecker says:

    You’re such a good friend.

Leave a Reply

