Apparently I’m trying to die

So I got sick on Wednesday. Just that pain in the back of the throat that says, “I’m coming down with a cold.” By the evening, it had turned into hot flashes and a pretty serious headache. I took Thursday off with joint pain, congestion, hot flashes, a very sore throat, headache, ear pain, and so forth. By Friday, I was feeling moderately better, so back to work. That night, again with the hot flashes, serious throat pain, ears, congestion, and blah, blah, blah. Saturday, more of the same.

In all of this, I would feel more or less fine from time to time, so I held off going to the doctor, especially since, going to bed on Saturday, I felt more or less okay after a day of more of the same.

And then Sunday… I woke up in the middle of the night with a left eye glued together. The dreaded pink eye. Fine! I’ll go see a doctor.

The doctor didn’t even bother diagnosing what I actually have; he took one look at my symptoms and prescribed a grape fruit-sized antibiotic. In the end, he said it was definitely pink eye, probably strep, possibly the flu, possibly ear infections, probably a sinus infection, possibly a chest cold, and possibly advancing into early stage pneumonia. Let me look back over that list and see if I missed anything… flu… strep… infections… pink eye… pneumonia… ears…. I think that was it.

Oh, and I still have a headache.

On top of the antibiotic, I have a second one for my eyes. It’s an ointment that I smear all over my eyes every three hours. It’s great stuff… Gets into my eyelashes and then brushes up against my glasses so I have to clean them every 15 minutes or so.

I don’t believe in doing things small….

Apparently.

This entry was posted in On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Apparently I’m trying to die

  1. Emily Heath says:

    I can’t begin to imagine how miserable you must feel. Get well soon.

  2. Emmerin says:

    I’m really glad we didn’t come over on Sunday. Miranda has hand, foot and mouth. We exposed my entire extended family: I’m glad we didn’t expose you too.

  3. Pingback: Still trying to die…. | the prodigal

Leave a Reply

