The most wonderful word in the world

I’m a word nerd, and a coworker introduced a new word to me today. I’m declaring it the most wonderful word ever.

Kummerspeck (German) n. Excess weight gained from emotional overeating. Literally, grief bacon.

Grief bacon… Sadness never sounded so happy.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The most wonderful word in the world

  1. JeffreyD says:

    That is an impressive word.

    So what is the proper usage? “I kummerspecked 3 pounds over the weekend!” Or, “I’m carrying about 40 kummerspecks right now.”

    • daveloveless says:

      That’s a really good question. It’s a noun in German, but English is famous for “verbing” just about anything…. I say both usages are correct!!! To celebrate, I propose that we go kummerspeck the crud out of three or four pounds!

  2. That’s awesome. Ich habe Kummerspeck gern.

  3. jayne bowers says:

    Dave, I know you won’t laugh (like my sweet husband did) when I tell you that once a month I get together with some logophiles for lunch. We all have small notebooks that we write our words in (at least two per month), and we share our words, give their origins, and offer sample sentences. One of mine from our last luncheon was pluvial, and the other was jollification.

    • daveloveless says:

      Can I come?!?!?! I would love that lunch!

      The one website I visit the most (outside of email and standard things like that) is http://www.etymonline.com/. It’s an etymology dictionary, and it is fascinating!

      I do get a touch of relief however from Steve and Angela and fonts! Fonts are right up there with words.

      This reminds me… I discovered an intriguing etymology the other day. I’ll blog about it!

  4. Cortanapl says:

    The most wonderful word in the world is: filiżanka (polish)

Leave a Reply

