Happy Anniversary

Today is the one-year anniversary of having my braces on. Talk about a milestone! I feel like I’ve lived more than a year in the last year, but at the same time, it all went by shockingly fast. It makes me think back to when I was serving a mission. The days lasted forever, the weeks even longer, and the months passed by in the blink of an eye. And oh how I loved it all!

But back to braces….

I celebrated my anniversary by having my braces tightened today. My favorite part was when the orthodontist expressed lots of satisfaction with my progress and said, “Let’s ratchet this up and get you done!” Then he used words like “torque” and “rotation wedges.” Not typically words I like to hear in regards to my teeth, but at the same time….

In the chair next to me, the lady sitting there was having her braces removed, and she was just shy of floating out of her chair and out the door. I was soooo jealous. And at the time, so excited. That’s going to be me before too much longer. If things are going as planned, I’m looking at another 6 to 8 months. July to September. I’m expecting August. Hoping.

Oh, and before you ask, apparently “torque” and “rotation wedges” means that Dave hurts a lot today. I feel like almost all my teeth are throwing a mosh pit in my face. Some are more exuberant than others, but it’s fair to say that I’m chewing gently today. And that’s perfectly fine by me! Let’s get this done! I even had that moment when they had all the wires out and mirror shining down into my face, and I saw it. I saw the potential. It was…

… awesome. 🙂

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Anniversary

  1. angeladecker says:

    Hooray for a year! I hated getting mine tightened or otherwise adjusted. Ibuprofen for a few days was my solace.

    • daveloveless says:

      Yeah, I typically have a pretty high pain tolerance, and this is more of the dull throbbing in the background. As long as I don’t bite hard, I’m okay. There is one tooth that feels like it’s getting ripped out of its socket though….

  2. Daniel says:

    The say the tightening is not the best experience. How long do you have to wear them?

Leave a Reply

