My Winter Flowers

It’s been an off and on fall/winter so far. Unseasonably warm but at the same time equal parts cold and chilly. We’ve had a small snow storm come through, and the coldest nights are well below freezing and frosty. In other words, normal.

So can someone please explain this?

SONY DSC

Yes, those would be my marigolds.

Or these?

SONY DSC

Yeah… Those would be my petunias and another ground cover that I’ve forgotten the name of.

I have always heard rumors that you can get flowers into the late fall if you were careful, but never summer flowers like petunias and marigolds. Apparently I’ve got the touch this year. 🙂 On the warm days, the bees are out among the flowers gathering the last drops of nectar and pollen for the maybe-not-as-long-as-I-was-expecting winter ahead. The smell is… incredible. It’s interesting how distinctly potent the aroma of a flower is when it’s the only one around. And while they are fading and there are dead and droopy plants in the bunch… flowers… in December.

With all I’ve been going through lately, I consider these a small miracle. I keep waking up in the morning with the frost thick on the cars and the grass and expecting to see them all dead, but no.

SONY DSC

And it makes me happy.

SONY DSC

I love the metaphor of the seasons (birth, life, aging, death, rebirth), but I’m glad my own little corner of the world is holding on to the last breaths of a spring day. Of a lively summer.

SONY DSC

So here’s to my winter flowers! Let’s see if we can make it to Christmas!

If any of you are interested, perchance, in some truly robust marigold seeds, Courtney and I have harvested thousands off these particular marigolds. This is a genetic line we’d love to see continue, and this is our second year cultivating this particular line. It’s a survivor! If you are local and want seeds, just ask.

This entry was posted in Dave's Gardening Corner, On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Winter Flowers

  1. Sarah L. says:

    Beautiful flowers.

Leave a Reply

