But the Foundation is Strong

Courtney and I were talking today on my lunch walk, and she said something that has stuck with me for a while. First, though, what a wonder she is. I’m glad she said yes all those years ago.

It’s been a long week for me. A hard one. One with few answers and lots of questions. It’s just been rough, and while I was talking to her about it, she reminded me about the Provo Tabernacle. You might remember this from several years ago….

index

I still remember that day vividly, and the sorrow I felt at losing that beloved building.

Courtney reminded me that while the fire was devastating and painful and hard to deal with, it created opportunity for this:

images

We can’t have one without the other.

She then said something that I hadn’t considered before. The temple is only possible not because the walls survived, but because the foundation was strong. And it still is.

Sometimes life deals us crushing blows. Debilitating blows. I’ve often felt that way these last months, especially this last week. But is the foundation strong? What might the future hold for me (and you) if the foundation is strong?

They put the first beams up for the new roof this last week. It’s actually starting to look like a real building again. As I think over the last few years of watching this painfully slow transformation, I’m reminded that they dug down forty feet first. That they gutted the building first. That they tore down first.

I wonder quite frequently just what the reason is for all of this that we go through. And I love answers, so not having them is… hard. Frustrating. But each time I drive by my temple, I’ll remember that the hidden strength of that foundation was what made all the rest of it possible.

This entry was posted in On the Home Front, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to But the Foundation is Strong

  1. I’m still glad too. 🙂

  2. Lora Leigh says:

    Thanks, Dave. Those are good thoughts for me to remember. Hope you and your family are doing well.

  3. Sarah L. says:

    Very cool. It made me think about how sometimes we go through so much, we are completely humbled and then the Lord can change us and mold us into what He wants. Things will get better. Love you.

Leave a Reply

