The Farmers Market

We did the farmers market today. My good friends Kiffen, Steve, and Angela joined me, and we had a good time. After expenses, we made around $108, which is less than I hoped for, but within the realm of expectation.

I had a good time; I really did. But I will be the first to admit that it was very hard to be there without Mackay, my beekeeping friend. As much as I love and adore Kiffen, Steve, and Angela (and I truly do), it should have been Mackay. I hope that doesn’t come across wrong for them, and I want each one of them to know just how much I appreciated their help and friendship today: it was awesome! I’m grateful for it.

I don’t know that I will do this particular market again. It seemed poorly attended. While I made back my money and then some, it was a lot of work for not a big reward. There is another market in the area, and I would like to try it. It is in a shopping center, and I have to assume they have both better attendance and success. Next year. We certainly have enough product to justify it.

I think my favorite part was seeing the dozens of bees come swarming my booth. We had real wax products out, and it was very attractive to the local bees. Many people commented on that.

So the market was draining. A lot of time, emotionally hard without Mackay, and not really a great return on the money. But we had a good time. I spent good time with good friends, which is always of significant worth to me. Give it a few weeks to really sink in, and then I will let you know if it was truly worth it in the end. For now, I just need a nap, a brain rest, and a bit of a pick-me-up.

This entry was posted in Bees. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Farmers Market

  1. Anonymous says:

    welcome to self-employment! not always the most pay but enjoyable.

  2. angeladecker says:

    It doesn’t come across wrong. That’s your thing. I hope you two can do stuff again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

