Hit and Run

Through most of my life, I’ve just always known when something was going to happen. It doesn’t happen in every situation or for every thing, but sometimes…. On Friday, I just had that feeling. I knew I was going to get into a car accident.

On the way home, I was hyper-vigilant. The freeway traffic seemed extra crazy, and I slowed down and stayed safe. There were a couple times where I was sure it was about to happen, but it never did. I finally got off the freeway and pulled up to the stop light at the bottom of the offramp. Safe, right? Not quite. When the light turned green, the car to my right tried to turn left.

As Elder Packer would say, it just does not work that way.

I t-boned him essentially, and fortunately, not my fault.

We got the cars out of traffic with him stopped in front of me. I just had that feeling that he was going to run, so I immediately called the police to report the accident. Sure enough, he ran. Fortunately, I had the police on the phone and I was already describing the car. I simply read off the plate, make, and model. Pretty easy, and I’m pretty sure they caught him last night. Turns out the guy was driving on expired plates, no insurance, and a revoked license. Am I surprised he ran?

No, no I’m not.

So, the good news: I’m fine. We were going pretty slow when the hit happened, maybe 10 miles an hour, and it was a glancing blow. My back is a little tight, but not painfully so. I’ll be watching it. I do have $3,500 of medical that I have access to if I need it due to the accident, and I’ll pay attention to it and see how it goes.

The car is also more or less fine. It’s drivable anyway. The front bumper and right-front quarter panel got beat up pretty nicely (scratches and dings), but that’s about it. Unfortunately, because the other driver was uninsured, it means I have the deductible. And this is the blessing in disguise….

We were already planning on selling our car and getting a mini-van. We like our car, but it won’t hold our expanding family come birth time. (Did I announce we’re expecting? Oh man…. Uh… We’re expecting…. hehe.) Two years ago, our trade-in value was $2,500 (it’s a very old car). So I decided I’d go see what the trade-in on it would  be today. Guess what? $2,500, even with the accident. 🙂

So instead of having the car repaired, we’re going to cash out the value of the repair. The last accident I had (five years ago) was somewhat similar in terms of scope, and the cost of the repair there was $4,000 or so. I’m guessing this will be similar. So after our deductible (stupid lack of insurance!), we will get a check for around $3,000 (a guess) AND we’ll still trade-in our car for basically its pre-accident value. Pretty nice deal if you ask me!

So while I’m frustrated that we got hit, and especially that the guy ran, I’m pretty cool with getting an estimated $5,500 for our car when all we would have got otherwise was $2,500. Not bad!

This morning I went out and picked out a nice new-to-us Dodge Grand Caravan. It’ll work perfectly for us for the next several years. I’m disappointed that we took out a loan to get it, but it was a good buy, a good deal, and–with the insurance–a win-win for us.

Now I just feel bad for the guy that ran…. I mean, I get why he did, and that’s unfortunate that he did run, but I kind of see why he did. Yes, he just destroyed his life even more (his fault), but I do hope he’s okay, especially if he has a family at home.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms, On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hit and Run

  1. Sarah L. says:

    Don’t you love that we have to have uninsured motorist insurance? So annoying. Matt was in a drive-thru when a guy threw the car in reverse because he was arguing with his girlfriend. Of course, he wasn’t insured. So glad you’re OK!

  2. Emily Heath says:

    Scary stuff. Glad you’re ok.

  3. rwgibbons says:

    Dave, as someone who helps people through car accidents for a living, I definitely encourage you to go see a doctor right away to get your back checked. Your own car insurance is required by law to pay every cent of medical treatment you get up to the $3,000-$3,500 that you mentioned (called Personal Injury Protection coverage.). You probably also have more if you need it after that through uninsured motorist insurance. It’s my experience that a lot of people feel okay right after an accident, but within a few days the trauma starts to catch up to them.

    Peace!

    • daveloveless says:

      Yep, I was thinking that same thing this morning. The last accident I was in, the pain started about three days later. There is tightness right now, so I was planning on going in and just getting checked out. Might as well.

  4. Laura G says:

    Glad you’re ok and in good spirits. And congrats on new baby and new car!

Leave a Reply

