Kicking and screaming into the 21st century!

Courtney and I, last Saturday, crossed a bridge. A huge bridge.

Finally, after resisting for many many years, Courtney and I got texting on our phones. 🙂

We’ve resisted for a long time because we didn’t want to be that connected, but over time, it has become the go-to communication method for many people, including some dear friends. That, as much as anything, is what finally tipped us over the edge to accept texting.

And we love it! (To everyone who is now saying, “I told you so,” I have a short message: Shut up.)

We told no one that we were doing it, so I took great pleasure in sending text messages to friends who know about my non-texting ways. I am almost famous in some circles for not texting.

The first text message I ever sent was to Mackay, and I did it while peeking around the corner of the house. He was in the front yard of his house playing with the kids, and I sent him a message so I could watch his reaction. He peeked at his phone, got this really confused look on his face, called his wife over, she read it, she got a really confused look on her face, and then I popped up around the corner while he was scratching his head. It was awesome.

Then I sent one to Jeff, and he sent me back a “What is this?” style message.

Then I sent another to Lee, and he waxed poetic: “What? Doth texting come from thy phone?”

Priceless.

I finally sent one to Joe, and he just busted up laughing (I was sitting at the desk immediately next to him at the time).

I’m really glad we did the unlimited plan. It’s only been a few days, but we’re already finding a lot of use and ease with texting. And no… I still cannot convince myself to get data on my phone. I still don’t want to be that connected, and I still find it pathetic (sorry all you data loving friends!) when someone ends up glued to their phone. Why would you stare at a phone when the real world is all around you?

There is nothing on your phone prettier than a cherry tree in full blossom, a friend’s face, or real human-to-human contact.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms, On the Home Front, Woman!. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kicking and screaming into the 21st century!

  1. DWH says:

    resistance is futile, now that you have begun down that slippery slope to the 21st century FaceBook is just around the corner:-)

  2. Emmerin says:

    You should text “Shut up” to them.

  3. Travis says:

    I find that texting is really nice for a super quick message to Aleisha when I don’t need to talk to her but need to convey information. I will often just text a quick ‘leaving’ message when I leave work or something like that. Otherwise, I just call and talk to people. And I totally agree with you that I will neverget data on my phone because I do not want to be that connected either. It bothers me greatly how many times people have run into me while they are looking at their phones and not talking to me or looking where they are going.

Leave a Reply

