A new thought….

So in the effort to do better and be better, I’m stealing a new thought from Mackay (so, new to me I guess).

One thing he’s doing for himself and his family is posting scriptures that personally strengthen him around his house in places where he consistently looks. I thought it was a pretty cool idea, so I’ve been scanning around for my own personal scripture of power.

Something that I’ve long struggled with is an acceptance of my own self-worth. I can see self-worth in others very easily, but I struggle to look past everything I’ve screwed up or done wrong and see strength, worth, and value. That is, of course, not true.

Today, while reading the scriptures as a family, I encountered this great pair of verses that spoke to me:

Doctrine & Covenants 78: 17-18

17–Verily, verily, I say unto you, ye are little children, and ye have not as yet understood how great blessings the Father hath in his own hands and prepared for you;

18–And ye cannot bear all things now; nevertheless, be of good cheer, for I will lead you along. The kingdom is yours and the blessings thereof are yours, and the riches of eternity are yours.

All right, so let’s talk about this….

Ye are little children. I forget sometimes how much in my infancy I am in my growth. There is so much progression and future in front of me, much of it still quite distant. Not only should I be patient with my growth and the timetable for getting there, but the Lord is patient with that growth and timetable. He can see the end from the beginning, and He’s patient with me in my efforts.

Ye have not yet understood how great blessings the Father hath in his own hands and prepared for you. Wow… So much here that I don’t remember. I frequently forget how much the Lord is really watching out for me and preparing for me and lifting for me. I love that the blessings are in His hands, implying both that He is in charge of them and also that He has not necessarily released them yet.

I remember clearly a few weeks ago when I was pondering our home and whether we could move, and I distinctly remember feeling the Lord rebuke me. The rebuke, tender as it could be, was one of “do you not realize what I’m doing and what I’m trying to give to you? Please be patient.” I think this scripture sums that up nicely.

Ye cannot bear all things now. No I can’t, so why am I in such a rush to be perfect? I think it was Elder Scott who this past weekend said that we can’t necessarily be perfect in everything simultaneously, that these things take time.

Be of good cheer. Perhaps my favorite part…. No, we cannot bear all things now. No, we forget what the Lord is building for us. No, we don’t understand. But we can be happy as long as….

For I will lead you along. … we let the Lord lead us. And the promise is there that He will.

Obedience–one of the big lessons from conference–is key to our happiness. In obedience, we find security, safety, and peace.

The kingdom is yours and the blessing thereof are yours, and the riches of eternity are yours. As we are obedient and are led by the Lord, we will find the salvation and exaltation that we seek. I’m especially interested in the present tense of the verbs here, that this things are ours, not that they will be.

The blessing the Lord offers us are near, immediate, and real. And for the ones that aren’t (see the in his own hand part from earlier), they are coming.

I’ve printed off three copies of the scripture. One hangs in my office at work, another is going to hang on the mirror at the foot of our bed, and the third I’m giving to Mackay. He can hang it if he wants (or not), but I wanted him to see the impact his example had on me. I think we sometimes forget to tell people that they matter to us.

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

