How to lose 10 pounds in three days

My work provides free wellness checks for those that want them. I like them, and I find they help me stay on track with my health goals.

Last month, I topped the scales at 249.8 pounds. I’m a big guy (6’4″), but that’s heavy even for me. I pulled the proverbial fire alarm: no candy, no chips, more exercise, etc. I actually did really well.

i just weighed myself, and I am 228. Yes, that is a drop of 21 pounds in 30 days.

Now before you get up in arms about the danger of losing that kind of weight that fast, I know. Let me explain what happened.

The LDS faith asks members to fast (go without food or water for 24 hours) on the first Sunday of each month. That would be this last Sunday. So I fasted this past Sunday. The first thing I ate, which is never very good for me after a fast, was a big spoon of raw cookie dough. Food poisoning.

So I spent the first 24 hours after not eating or drinking due to the fast, not eating or drinking due to the food poisoning. I cannot remember ever feeling so hungry, and especially so thirsty.

But that is only half the story.

In an attempt to help my body recover, I took a kefir solution, which is basically a bacterial solution full of healthy flora/fauna for your gut. And I promptly discovered that in some people, kefir solutions take time to adjust. So what did I do last night? Why I spent yet another night puking and otherwise evacuating my system.

If you’re keeping track at home, that makes three straight days where I neither ate nor drank anything AND spent most of the time quite sick.

And that is how you lose ten pounds in three days. Or in my case, potentially 21 pounds, though I recognize a big chunk of that is water weight that I need to get back NOW.

Yes, we recognize that my condition is a growing concern, so don’t worry on that front. The mandatory evacuation zone that is my GI tract is apparently feeling better now, so hopefully we can get back to healing. I sure hope so.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms, On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to lose 10 pounds in three days

  1. DWH says:

    such a good read, (during my lunch!)

    Thanks Dave

Leave a Reply

