Winter Storm–November 9-10, 2012

The easiest way to sum up what happened last Friday/Saturday is to say Tree 2, Car 0.

Yes, our beloved sycamore took out another car.

Overnight, we got between 8 and 10 inches of snow, heavy wet snow. The snow pulled off at least 10 large branches, including the crown of the tree. The snow also laid our 25 foot cottonwood down almost flat. And since pictures really are worth a thousand words…

Here’s a few from the front porch using the nifty panoramic feature on Courtney’s camera. You can see the two big piles of branches on the left, the main fall in the middle (there is a care buried underneath that), and then me and our cottonwood. I had already shaken a bunch of snow off the cottonwood, but it was still pretty bent out of shape.

Here’s the car from the street side. That big branch on the left hit the hood dead on leaving the hood more or less concave. It hit hard enough that it cracked the frame inside the car and also messed up the windshield.

So yesterday the city came by and “fixed” the problems. I could cry…. They pulled the cottonwood completely. I think the cottonwood could have been saved, but no. It’s gone. But that isn’t the worst of it. They “pruned” the sycamore. I used to have a full, big, beautiful tree. Now I have half a tree.

Here’s the result of their work…

This doesn’t quite show the damage. Try this one:

😦

I have half a tree. It looks… horrible. Sad. Disfigured.

My beloved sycamore….

Sigh…. I’m going to ask the city just to take it. They said they wouldn’t unless it was rotted through, but I die inside each time I see it. My poor sycamore.

😦

This entry was posted in On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter Storm–November 9-10, 2012

  1. So sorry to hear about your sycamore tree – and your car – although the snowy photos look lovely. It’s a shame your council won’t deal with the tree, over here it would be a health-and-safety issue. Poor tree.

    • dave says:

      I totally would agree with the safety issue. It just doesn’t seem like something they’d want to keep around. Frankly, I hope they pull it so that I can replant another sycamore or two. I love sycamores.

Leave a Reply

