A New Book List… Kind of….

Remember my review for the book Speak? Well I was thinking about it, and I have realized that a big reason I liked the book was the newness of it all. It was just refreshing to get back into reading and to encounter a new author.

Yesterday, I went to the library to pick up a new book by Ken Follett based on the recommendation of a friend. The book I wanted wasn’t there, so on a whim, I grabbed two different books by Follett and one random book off the shelf that attracted me for some reason.

Walking home, I felt… excited? invigorated? by the idea of just grabbing a random book and seeing how it worked out. It’s a nice little way of meeting new authors and finding new stories. So I hatched a plan:

For the next year (52 weeks) I’m going to go to the library and grab a random book. The only rules are that the book cannot be from an author I’ve read previously and each week the author name has to start with a different letter of the alphabet (26 letters in the alphabet, 52 weeks in the year = one rotation through the alphabet every year). I told Courtney about the idea, and she loves it, too!

We’re going to finish the books I got yesterday and then start our program, so probably around the first week of October.

By the way, the random book went back to the library this morning (quite a bit of language and sex) and the Ken Follett books are turning out to be quite good. Both are historical mysteries and very well written.

And this gives me something to blog about every two weeks, which is nice as well.

UPDATE: One of my friends mentioned that we’ll have to be careful not to pick up books that are racy or full of language. Yes, that was one rule I forgot to mention: If the book is not a “good” book, we can drop it no questions asked. Hopefully we’ll start each book quickly so that we have time to go pick up a new book for that two week period.

This rule comes from, as you might expect, President Hinckley’s advice that we should read “the best books.” With the massive world of literature around us, we certainly don’t have to settle for filth in order to read a good story. Good stories exist quite easily without the language, sex, and glorified violence.

This entry was posted in On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

