Review: Mitt Romney’s RNC Speech 2012

No dog news yet….

But onto the speech.

This, and a review of Obama’s speech, have been on my plate for a while now, and I admit that I haven’t wanted to deal with them. I just don’t know that I’m… ready. The Primary season really wore on me, and this campaign season so far is wearing me down. All the negativity….

But I must. Well, if must can be described as I choose to I guess must it is.

As usual, the text I copy from the speech is indented with my thoughts not indented. I pulled the text from here. I hope to queue Obama’s speech up for tomorrow, so watch for it.

And away we go….

But today, four years from the excitement of the last election, for the first time, the majority of Americans now doubt that our children will have a better future.

It is not what we were promised.

Just a general complaint of mine (because everyone does it)…. I don’t like this idea of “promises.” America was not built on the promise of a better future, it was built on the platform of the opportunity of a better future. It might be nit-picky for some, but opportunity vs promise is a key distinction when it comes to what I believe and what many others believe. I feel that the Dems believe in the promise of a better future, and I can’t buy that philosophy. We watched The Lorax last night, and I enjoyed it well enough. I didn’t care for the black and white anti-capitalist, pro-tree hugger message (I’m very gray in that area), but I did very much buy into the Unless message. To quote:

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing’s going to get better. It’s not.”

The future is not a promise. It’s an opportunity. Anyone telling you otherwise is selling you short on your own ability to grow, learn, and excel, and I sincerely hope you will never let anyone take that from you. To promise us a better future inherently removes our personal responsibility to seek it, to strive for it, and to work as hard as we can.

So… promises. I don’t much care about what we were promised, and yes, I think the promise philosophy is more of a Dem attitude, which more than anything probably showcases why I am not a Dem.

This was the hope and change America voted for.

It’s not just what we wanted. It’s not just what we expected.

It’s what Americans deserved.

Nice little zing to start off there, and Romney is right. Our current state is not what was voted into office in 2008. But that deserved bit? Deserved isn’t a right; it’s something earned. And I had to gag a bit while even writing that. Deserved might be the most pathetic of excuses or whines. You get what you earn, and frankly what we’ve had since 2008 (and before, but this is only about the last four years) hasn’t earned us what we wanted.

I wish President Obama had succeeded because I want America to succeed. But his promises gave way to disappointment and division. This isn’t something we have to accept. Now is the moment when we CAN do something. With your help we will do something.

I recognize that there are plenty of people who won’t believe this about the GOP, but this is actually true of most of us. Country before party really is how most of us feel. We’d be thrilled to see the nation succeed even if success isn’t quite what we would have done. I really do wish Obama had succeeded. I think much of the reason he didn’t is due to his own choices as well as the deep partisanship we’re currently seeing.

Now is the moment when we can stand up and say, “I’m an American. I make my destiny. And we deserve better! My children deserve better! My family deserves better. My country deserves better!”

But I never would. I mean, I’d say the first two lines, but deserve? You know my thoughts. Now if he had changed that to, “we can earn better….”

My friends cared more about what sports teams we followed than what church we went to.

I saw a meme the other day that encapsulates some thoughts kind of related to this. The text went something like this: Liberals claim to want to give a hearing to other views, but then are shocked and offended to discover that there are other views.

Yes, I’m a Mormon, and I recognize that Mormonism isn’t a “problem” for me in this election. But I still don’t get why it is for anyone else. I’ve always been shocked that those who claim to be as open and inclusive as possible are really only open and inclusive of people who think as they do. And that’s not to give the GOP a free pass either, but please, let’s not fool ourselves into thinking that either party has a monopoly on being inclusive.

And no, I wouldn’t care if Obama were a Muslim (he’s not, by the way). Some of the best people I know are Muslims, and I would vote for them without a moments hesitation.

All the laws and legislation in the world will never heal this world like the loving hearts and arms of mothers and fathers. If every child could drift to sleep feeling wrapped in the love of their family – and God’s love — this world would be a far more gentle and better place.

Oh, amen. Seriously…. I dream of that world, and I’ll do my part to earn it by taking care of my own family.

I can still hear her saying in her beautiful voice, “Why should women have any less say than men, about the great decisions facing our nation?”

I’m still trying to figure out where the war on women is coming from. Can someone explain it to me? And please don’t say it is the abortion/contraception garbage. My response to all of that is take personal responsibility. If you make a choice, live by it.

Those weren’t the easiest of days – too many long hours and weekends working, five young sons who seemed to have this need to re-enact a different world war every night.

I have five brothers (and three sisters). I’m not sure a more accurate description of life in my household could apply than that.

I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

Many of you felt that way on Election Day four years ago. Hope and Change had a powerful appeal. But tonight I’d ask a simple question: If you felt that excitement when you voted for Barack Obama, shouldn’t you feel that way now that he’s President Obama? You know there’s something wrong with the kind of job he’s done as president when the best feeling you had was the day you voted for him.

There is literally just one possible response to this question and idea: dang….

If Romney can push that message forward and get America to sincerely answer that, it will reset the election and probably give him the win.

He took office without the basic qualification that most Americans have and one that was essential to his task. He had almost no experience working in a business. Jobs to him are about government.

DING! I still remember feeling completely dumbfounded when people harped on Sarah Palin as not having any experience, and she was the vice presidential candidate?!?! Instead, we elected our Class President in Chief Community Organizer Obama.

Utterly incredulous!

I had thought about asking my church’s pension fund to invest, but I didn’t. I figured it was bad enough that I might lose my investors’ money, but I didn’t want to go to hell too. Shows what I know. Another of my partners got the Episcopal Church pension fund to invest. Today there are a lot of happy retired priests who should thank him.

People don’t Romney credit for the humor and humanity that is there. We’ve been told he’s a robot so often that we’ve come to believe it as a matter of expectation, not reality. This is one case where we are allowing our eyes to be deceived by the pictures painted by others.

These are American success stories. And yet the centerpiece of the President’s entire re-election campaign is attacking success. Is it any wonder that someone who attacks success has led the worst economic recovery since the Great Depression? In America, we celebrate success, we don’t apologize for it.

We weren’t always successful at Bain. But no one ever is in the real world of business.

Why is this such a hard concept for some to grasp (the last line). We act like Romney is evil because he wasn’t 100% successful. As if him being 100% successful wouldn’t raise a whole new round of complaints. Seriously….

That is why every president since the Great Depression who came before the American people asking for a second term could look back at the last four years and say with satisfaction: “you are better off today than you were four years ago.”

Except Jimmy Carter. And except this president.

This president can ask us to be patient.

This president can tell us it was someone else’s fault.

This president can tell us that the next four years he’ll get it right.

But this president cannot tell us that YOU are better off today than when he took office.

I agree. Fully.

I get really tired of hearing Obama talking about inheriting all these problems. No one is denying that. What we are wondering, though, is why four years later nothing has really changed. We’re still in the midst of the longest and slowest recovery in our nation’s history with no real end in sight.

What is needed in our country today is not complicated or profound. It doesn’t take a special government commission to tell us what America needs.

What America needs is jobs.

Yep.

First, by 2020, North America will be energy independent by taking full advantage of our oil and coal and gas and nuclear and renewables.

I agree with this. First, the US currently ships around $600BB overseas to pay for imported oil. All those who don’t think that keeping that kind of money on our shores would have a profound impact on our economy, please stand.

Second, President Obama’s speech paints Romney as letting the oil companies write our energy policies. I’d like to know where that comes from. Romney’s been pretty clear that this will be a multi-faceted approach. It needs to be.

To assure every entrepreneur and every job creator that their investments in America will not vanish as have those in Greece, we will cut the deficit and put America on track to a balanced budget.

Oh how this needs to happen, and it was the big reason I like Paul on the ticket.

President Obama promised to begin to slow the rise of the oceans and heal the planet. MY promise…is to help you and your family.

A great line. Truly.

I will begin my presidency with a jobs tour. President Obama began with an apology tour. America, he said, had dictated to other nations. No Mr. President, America has freed other nations from dictators.

I remember that tour… and I remember feeling a deep sense of shame for the Office of the President.

President Obama has thrown allies like Israel under the bus, even as he has relaxed sanctions on Castro’s Cuba. He abandoned our friends in Poland by walking away from our missile defense commitments, but is eager to give Russia’s President Putin the flexibility he desires, after the election. Under my administration, our friends will see more loyalty, and Mr. Putin will see a little less flexibility and more backbone.

I won’t deny that President Obama has foreign policy experience. I will deny that it is good experience. His comments regarding flexibility with Russia earlier this year is certainly something that should give everyone pause.

And there it is.

A good speech all in all, and one that I think helps define Romney a little better. Tomorrow (or sometime later), I’ll do Obama’s speech.

And I don’t know… maybe I have got enough political gas left in the tank to make it through this election season….

This entry was posted in Dave-isms, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

