Happy 4th!

I love the Fourth of July. It is almost my favorite holiday. At times, I’d go as far as to say that it just might be, but only because my favorite is typically whatever is next. To be honest, it’s probably:

  1. Christmas/Thanksgiving
  2. Easter
  3. Fourth of July

And yes, I do combine Christmas and Thanksgiving into one hugely joyful experience of gratitude, thanks, giving, and worship. It’s just marvelous!

But back to today…

I love the activity of the day. For us, it starts with an early morning neighborhood breakfast, where I always volunteer to abuse the crud out of a pile of sausage. We have a couple hundred people come through that breakfast line, and it’s probably not an exaggeration to suggest that I cook over 50 lbs of sausage and bacon.

At least.

Then we watch the marvelous parade come down the streets while sitting in the shade. I get tired of the marching bands, beauty pageant winners, and political floats, but I could watch our veterans and public servants all day long. I’m not afraid to admit that I always become just a touch emotional seeing these men and women who gave and give more than I can understand. I’m especially proud that my dad, my wife, and one of my brothers have worn that uniform with dignity and honor.

Afterward follows what amounts to a long day of restful relaxations. BBQ, games, fireworks, and so forth. It’s just a good day.

Building of my 1000 post and the concept of remembering, I’m glad that those who have gone before have left me with what I have today, and I’m hopefully that what I do today leaves those who will come after me something to be proud of. It’s all about give and take: I’ll give all I can so that I can take joy in the successes that will follow.

Have a safe, happy, fun-filled Fourth! And if you get bored, just think of me lying bloated on the parade route with 50 lbs of sausage stuffed in my gullet. Yum, yum.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy 4th!

  1. Sarah L. says:

    Mmmmmmm ……. sausage ……. Happy 4th, Dave! 😀

Leave a Reply

