Movie Review: Tintin

I first encountered Tintin when I lived in Germany. He was everywhere. And I thought him supremely boring. Hey… I was a teenager.

But we saw the trailer awhile back, and it interested me.

The Good

This is a great family film. No sex, no swearing, fast plot, amazing scenes, and wonderfully engaging. Even for adults. The film picks up right from the beginning, and my two older kids enjoyed it right from the start.

Oh, and more than any other film, this film shows just how close to “real” computer animation has come. Stunning.

The Bad

Um… Can’t think of anything off the top of my head. I did glance at my watch, which is normally a sign that I’m not enjoying a movie, but I glanced to see how long it had been playing knowing and hoping that we still had more time to go before it ended.Tintin was a rare movie where I was hoping it would go longer. And still longer.

Conclusion

Yep, it’s a winner. It’s on the buy list. It’s safe for kids, interesting for adults, and engaging for the entire family. I am sincerely hoping they make a second.

3.5 out of 4 stars only because the plot could have been tighter (not that your kids will care).

 

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Movie Review: Tintin

  1. Travis says:

    I knew Tintin from my time in France. I read a bunch of the stories and enjoyed them, but something was missing. I saw the film and, by watching the film, I realized my problem with Tintin is Tintin himself! He is boring! eVERYONE AROUND HIM IS AWESOME, BUT tINTIN HAS NO REAL PERSONALITY OTHER THAN A “gEE WHIZ, LET’S GO!”.
    wHILE i ENJOYED THE FILM A LOT, ESPECIALLY THE CHASE SCENE WITH THE FALCOLN, i WISH HE HAD MORE OF AN ATTITUDE, LIKE iNDIANA jONES. tHEN, IT WOULD BE PERFECT!
    (Sorry, I accidentally hit caps lock and dont want to retype it) 🙂

  2. daveloveless says:

    I would totally agree with that. Another person mentioned that the could never tell if he was a boy, a youth, or an adult. Also agreed.

  3. Travis says:

    Officially, according to the comics, he is 14. A 14 yr old who lives by himself, is a nationally known reporter, and whose best friend is an old sea captain. He was written by a Belgian, so I guess that doesn’t seem too weird. 🙂

Leave a Reply

