Hiving the new packages

I debated calling this post Mistakes in Beekeeping. Then I thought Dave Does Stupid would be better.

But the best title might simply be Ow.

Installing the packages was smooth and easy. A little cold, to be sure, but easy. I think more bees died than should have due to it being cooler, but since rain is forecast for the next four days….

The ow comes from what happened before all this. I had to move Hive 1, which is now 2, and I did wrong by my bees, and they let me know it. Due to the weight, I ended up basically opening the hive to make moving it easier. Because of the cold, everyone was home, and they were not happy. I also didn’t use smoke, trusting on ability and speed to get it done quickly.

And I paid the price. Ten stings. TEN!! To make it worse, nine were on my right ankle all within an inch of each other. The other was on my left calf.

To my everlasting credit, I didn’t swear. 🙂

In my humorous moments, I like to think that maybe I’m more like my mentor than I thought…. Sorry, Aleisha, I couldn’t resist….

Courtney, to her benefit, pointed out that I will probably never have arthritis in that ankle….

My dad just laughed. Thanks dad. Oh, and congratulations on being an official beekeeper now. It is one of the most worthwhile things I’ve ever done.

If this doesn’t determine whether I’m allergic, nothing will…. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to go elevate my right foot. The swelling is getting uncomfortable again.

This entry was posted in Bees. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hiving the new packages

  1. Travis says:

    HAH…you can be like me anytime:) good luck healing!
    aleisha, using trav’s computer…

  2. Emily Heath says:

    Ooh nasty. They really got you back for that one.

Leave a Reply

