Alright Beeks! What do I do?

Remember Hive 2 and its unfortunate demise?

Well, some of the frames that I stored away have turned, as in the nectar has fermented. What do I do?

Can I throw those on the hives and let the bees take care of it? Will that harm the bees? Do I just throw it all away?

There is still some 20 to 25 pounds of honey on those frames that I’d like to preserve for the bees, but I’m just not sure what to do.

Guidance, please!

This entry was posted in Bees. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Alright Beeks! What do I do?

  1. Quite a dilemma. You can make marmalade or mead from the fermented nectar and left over honey. Unfortunately, the honeycomb may contain parasites and diseases inside the cells from the demised hive and these would be passed to other hives if you give them the frames or leave the honey for them. In the UK we usually burn frames and old comb from diseased hives to prevent further spread of disease to other colonies, and sometimes the leftover honey is harvested for our own use beforehand. I hope that helps.

  2. daveloveless says:

    I was worried that would be the answer.

    This hive died from a varroa infestation, so I’m less worried about diseases, UT still…. I may just try to get what I can off the frames and trash the rest.

  3. aleisha says:

    you could always let the frames get “robbed” 30 ft. away from your hives and see what happens:) sketchy experimental science on that one–but it could be fun:)

  4. daveloveless says:

    I thought about setting up a robbing situation. I set out my recently harvested frames last fall, and the robbing was ferocious. I actually think that was one of the reasons the wasps found and killed Hive 2. No evidence, but it was shortly after that I started noticing the wasps.

    Someone else mentioned I could probably shake out the fermented nectar, and just return the honey to the hives. That seems the first choice at this point, followed by robbing, followed by simply harvesting it and doing what I can. I really do want this to go back to the bees before harvesting, so….

    Lesson learned…. If I have a hive die in the winter, harvest the honey.

Leave a Reply

