Killing Grape Hyacinths (Muscari)

Just a message of hope for all you fellow Grape Hyacinth Haters out there (and ohhhh how I hate them….).

I’ve been fighting them for four years now, carefully pulling each bulb one by one. My front yard is now on year two of being totally clear. The backyard is on year three. I still have a narrow strip back by the hives that has a few, but I’ve been doing serious battle on those and expect to be completely free next year.

It can be done!

Happily, the driveway between my lawn and my neighbor’s lawn, which is infested, has served well enough to block further spreading my way.

I still have not found a poison that effectively controls them unless the bulbs are very shallow. If they are shallow, a standard weed killer tends to work well enough. Whenever I pull a particularly nasty shovelful of earth, I’ll sometimes soak the hole with week killer to get any bulbs that were left behind before filling the hole with clean soil. It seems to work quite well.

This entry was posted in Dave's Gardening Corner. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Killing Grape Hyacinths (Muscari)

  1. DWH says:

    I’ve been pulling by the bucket load and don’t know if I’m making any headway.

  2. Anonymous says:

    plant dandelions….your bees will love it! i am interested that you will poison the grape hyacinths but want your bees to be “natural”….mmmm…….just sayin’

  3. daveloveless says:

    Fair enough….

    The last time I tried poison (which doesn’t work by the way) was four years ago. I’ve been beekeeping for one year. I do NOT poison anything currently. Any weeding I do is all by hand. Back breaking one-by-one labor. 🙂

    Oh, and I keep my manicured lawn quite happily without concern forthe bees because no one else in my neighborhood does. Plenty of dandelions AND I get a nice, natural lawn. Best of both worlds.

  4. Anonymous says:

    i must have been at school when i made that comment, otherwise i don’t know why it came up anonymous…i will own me teasing comments just fine! i am glad to know that you haven’t used any poison since you got your bees…that does make me feel better:) and i do know that you get the best of both worlds in your neighborhood as you can have a manicured lawn and your neighbors provide the dandelions:) aleisha

Leave a Reply

