Rick Santorum: A review

I’ve been promising myself for some time that I would sit down and talk about Rick Santorum. Figure out the inside story (or as inside as you can get with what you can find). In other words, I want to gauge the man. Figure out whether I could ever support him in an election against Obama.

Short answer: If it were Obama Vs. Santorum, I’d be doing a ton of pondering. I’m simply not convinced.

Let’s address some of the complaints first:

Foreign Policy

Santorum voted against the appointment of Robert Gates as Secretary of Defense. Why? Because Secretary Gates was in favor of talking to Iran and Syria as opposed to more direct, non-diplomatic solutions. I’m not nearly as extreme as Paul when it comes to foreign policy, but nor am I this far on the other end of the spectrum. There is a place for diplomacy, and it should certainly be at least a matter of first resort where possible. There are situations, of course, but to unilaterally oppose talking to Iran and Syria? No thanks.

He supports “enhanced interrogation.” Reading between the lines, that means water boarding. Part of me gets this. There is certainly debatable value in information obtained that prevents attacks or aids us in our efforts despite the methods. However, where is the line? At what point does it become not acceptable? If we can so easily do this to some, why not others? No, I cannot support or condone enhanced interrogation. It’s nothing more than a euphemism for torture.

One final note: Santorum is utterly hawkish. There is no other way to describe it. And that is a huge negative. The man sees ghosts and goblins in Arab garb every where he turns.

He claims expertise in foreign policy, and I’ll certainly grant him that he’s got a lot of experience. But his past and current stances suggest to me that he’d act in a way contrary to my beliefs and conscious.

Political Stances and Views

He has a fuzzy past on intelligent design. I’m not disagreeing with intelligent design–I believe that God did create all that is around us and that He uses natural and scientific processes, such as evolution, to accomplish that–but his activities in regard to this subject just don’t feel right to me. It just doesn’t work for me. He seems to waffle back and forth on his commitment to the principle (not necessarily an issue) siting religious issues as reasoning (an issue). Either do or don’t. Simple enough.

He has always taken a strong anti-abortion stance, which I agree with. I’m not sure if he’s ultra-right on the issue or not, but it would not surprise me if he were.

He’s pro-Palin. Sigh… I remember when Palin was Governor of Alaska. Such a capable, promising person. Now I just wish she’d go away, and I readily admit that when she supports a candidate, I find myself second guessing my own support.

I strongly support his views on the family. I have little trouble suggesting that he would likely make one of the stronger pro-family presidents we’ve had should he succeed. I’m also quite fond of his home schooling choice.

He’s anti-Libertarian, and once again we’re going to find ourselves parting ways. I’m neither pro nor anti to the Libertarian movement, but I strongly agree with their get-out-of-my-life stance. Government should not obstruct my life. It should encourage and enable.

Style

This mostly has to do with how he handles himself politically. Frankly, Santorum is an in-your-face politician, and not in a way that I like. I find him rude and unbearable at times. Let’s just say that I would never willingly work for someone like him.

He’s also not a person I see willingly working with other people of opposing opinions. He has a strong my-way-or-the-highway attitude that is a turnoff. I seriously doubt he’d be capable of working with democrats should he be elected.

Conclusion

Santorum clearly represents an extreme right-wing conservatism that is not for me. In fact, I readily state that should he win the nomination, I will, like last time, find myself looking elsewhere for a candidate. No, I couldn’t vote for Santorum anymore than I could vote for Obama. Both represent a fringe element of the government that is nothing close to what we need right now (a centrist).

Glad to finally know for sure.

 

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rick Santorum: A review

  1. Travis says:

    Since it’s a review, how many stars would you give him? 🙂

  2. daveloveless says:

    Good point.

    Passion? Four stars.

    Broad electability? Two… Maybe

    For me-ness? Half. At best.

Leave a Reply

