GOP CNN Debate

First things first, Ron Paul had the line of the night when he called Senator Santorum overly sensitive. It was the only moment I clapped and cheered (Courtney can verify that).

I’m soooo sick of Santorum. Every time he shakes his head, I want to slap him. He comes across as a whiny, wimpy, wienie, and I personally cannot wait for him to go away. GRRR!!!!

End of rant. 🙂

Here are, as usual my thoughts on the debate:

Ron Paul

Well done. He did an excellent job of staying above the fray between the other three candidates and particularly between Gingrich and Santorum. He was likable, had some great moments, and acquitted himself well. Like I said earlier, when he called Santorum overly sensitive, I cheered. And it’s a move that only Paul could have pulled off with that kind of grace. He’s not my first choice for president, but he’s high up there.

Newt Gingrich

His start to the debate (refusing to address his ex-wive’s comments) was ridiculous. Talk about pious baloney. The only one I dislike more than Santorum at this point is Gingrich. The man is a pig. He’s rude, he’s mean, and he’s got a vendetta. YES, his character matters. He can act like it doesn’t, but it does. He can claim to be changed, but he’s showing more and more that he’s not a changed man and he’s the same person who was thrown out of his Speaker chair.

Rick Santorum

Ugh… Can I just avoid this one?

Mitt Romney

He was right to pass on attacking Gingrich over his character record. As much as Gingrich was wrong to refuse to answer, Romney was right to let Gingrich hang. As opposed to Monday’s debate, Romney actually performed well and performed strongly.

I get frustrated with some of the attacks that Romney faces, especially from Gingrich and Santorum. The attacks they place on Romney fail to recognize the context of the situations and especially fail to recognize full facts. In the end, I hope the electorate is capable of understanding truth and fact and fiction and attack.

Romney still has my vote. If not Romney, Paul. But I did make this promise earlier today…. If Gingrich wins the nomination, you will NOT find me on his side. You will find me actively campaigning against him, and you will even see me seriously considering an Obama vote. I strongly dislike Obama. I don’t like him and I think he’s bad. However, I do agree with NoSurfGirl that Obama at least has his heart in the right place and honestly believes what he is doing is the best choice. Gingrich? This is a power grab. This is purely about the size of his considerable head and ego.

Santorum and Gingrich keep trying to position themselves as the anti-Romney. Well here’s one for you: I’m an anti-Gingrich. Anyone than Gingrich. Period.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to GOP CNN Debate

  1. Sarah L. says:

    The tax thing is bugging me. Why should Romney have to show anyone his tax returns? The average Joe doesn’t understand tax code, so it’s just a ploy to show Mitt as the big, bad, rich man who took advantage of LEGAL tax deductions and donated to his evil church. If he did something illegal, that’s for the IRS to deal with.

  2. marlajayne says:

    Enjoyed reading this. I think you’d like the columns of Kathleen Parker, a syndicated columnist who’s also a Romney fan who’s addressed some of the very concerns you mentioned.

    And by way, have you looked at this month’s Ensign? I have an article in there about Relief Society and its role in my conversion.

  3. daveloveless says:

    I read that article, but didn’t check author names. I’m going to go back and read it!

    And I’ll look up Kathleen Parker as well.

  4. Pingback: Santorum in Broward, Romney in Volusia, Newt seeking a Florida | Gulf Coast Rising News

  5. I *loved* Paul in this debate. Winced for Romney. Wanted to barf every time GIngritch opened his mouth. He is such a beady, slimy little man. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

