A year in review

Do you want to know how nice the break was? Nice enough that I could not get up the energy to even bother to write my standard end of the year/anniversary post. ๐Ÿ™‚

I was remarkably relaxed.

So the year in review… Well, we set a record this year in visitors. Just over 26,000! I’m not sure how we top that. I mean, I’m not a commercial blog by any means, and I’m just not sure what would drive those numbers higher. To be frank, I don’t really care if they go higher, but… you know. We are also just shy of hitting the 100,000 mark for total visitors. I expect that to fall sometime in March or April. Just in time for the tulips.

On the home front, we just completed our first year without renters, and I cannot begin to describe how right that choice was. It was scary to cut out that source of income, but a year later, I am realizing how essential and necessary that was for us. The kids have never been happier, and neither have we. Our living room upstairs is what I’ve always wanted. Our family room downstairs is getting better. The hexagon room (the basement bedroom) is a war zone, one that I meant to tame this holiday season and didn’t. Courtney made a valiant effort, but there is still much to be done before we can comfortably push the kids downstairs and make way for Baby Carolyn’s arrival (that’s the name by the way. Minus the “baby” part.).

We bought new living room furniture: a beautiful bench with storage and two really nice chairs for me and Courtney. We have the new beds picked out for the kids as well–A Wal-mart special toddler bed for Myron and just a simple twin for Katherine. She’s getting big enough that she needs that. Our hope is that by the time Myron is ready for a twin, we’ll be able to switch Myron for Carolyn. That’ll put the two girls downstairs in the biggest bedroom and Myron by himself in the small upstairs bedroom. We’ll probably get a bunk bed as well to make the downstairs bedroom work even better.

And the anniversary? We hit eight years on Friday. I’ve been pondering the current state of my marriage lately, and I’ve realized that in many ways we’ve become comfortable. Almost complacent. That is, of course, something that needs to change. At the same time, being comfortable is a good thing. We’re in a situation where we are becoming more able to talk frankly and openly. Honestly.

Communication has always been one of the struggles for us. We both have distinctly different styles of communication and interpretations. Courtney is grossly literal. I’m not. Except when I ask questions. Go figure. We’re both still learning, though, and there is lots of time before us to work it all out.

Looking ahead, I turn 33 next week. I feel old, but not nearly as old as I used to. This is the prime of life, but I don’t feel primed. For the New Year, I’m hopeful that I’ll finally make some of those important changes for my personal life that I’ve sought for years. You have the standard things: weight, exercise, bad habits, etc. But I also want to get into other habits that are the little things, the foundational things. Right after I was called to the High Council, I instituted several habits that were wonderful. I’d listen to General Conference in the mornings, I would read my scriptures more faithfully, and, most importantly, I’d stay engaged in activities. I was consciously trying to do those things that were of greatest worth. Lately… not so much. I’ve lapsed on a lot of things, and it affects me.

I’ve noticed a few simple truths–When I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing, I feel better. I feel more love for my wife and my family. I’m more capable of doing those things that are important. I’m more able to discern what I should do. I’m stronger. I’m happier.

It’s when I don’t do those simple things that I’m unhappy, that I’m unproductive, that I’m… out of it.

I’m not a movie person, but the movie Prestige had a line that always hit me. I won’t spoil it for the few of you who haven’t seen it (GO SEE IT!!!!), but the wife will often look at her husband and say, “You don’t love me today.” When I fail in the simple things, I feel like I can say that about a lot of things. When I succeed, all is well. Very well.

Sigh… Enough of that. Back to work. Back to the season of renewal. Of trying again. As my mother has on a small frame in the bathroom, “Work will win when wishy washy wishing won’t.”

So get to work! ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Dave-isms, On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A year in review

  1. Sarah L. says:

    Myspacebarisbroken.Lovedthispostthough!

  2. daveloveless says:

    Ahem….. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHAHAHA!!!!

    That’s hilarious. And good luck getting your space bar working.

  3. “Grossly literal…?” …I object! I prefer umm….”.highly accurate…” Heck, I’d even settle for just “very literal” but “grossly”?

    Did I just prove your point?

  4. daveloveless says:

    Yeah…. I think I’ll stand by my original statement. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Emily Heath says:

    Wow…you’re only three years older than me, yet you seem so much more mature. You have a wife, (almost) three kids and a house and I have…a boyfriend, a 3 legged cat, a tiny flat and a few thousand bees. Carolyn is a very pretty name btw.

    Happy birthday for next week!

  6. daveloveless says:

    That’d be the religious culture for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh, and three-legged cat? Sounds like story time to me!

  7. Sarah L. says:

    Iwashedathreeleggeddogonce.

  8. daveloveless says:

    That literally took me over a minute to translate. I am waiting for you to write a post on your blog without the space bar. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Emmerin says:

    Either your or Courtney’s blog gave me the aha moment that has made my goal keeping the most successful ever. A little over a month ago, I started making unbelievably tiny goals. My first one was to do personal scripture study in the morning. That was it. The whole goal. So, when I was running late for a meeting, my study was literally one verse. Most days, it’s only a column. Pathetic, but I can count on one hand the days I’ve missed since then. I only work on one tiny goal at a time, and I don’t set a new one until “it’s not a decision anymore.” (Putting habit to work). So, it took me several weeks with the scripture study. Doing study with my husband at night took less time. My progress is unbearably slow, but I haven’t been this consistent since I was a perfectionist, and, since teaching broke my perfectionism, I can’t rely on that anymore. Yeah for progress!

  10. daveloveless says:

    I think that was my “changing behavior” posts that have been somewhat forgotten. I still need to do five or six of those.

    Excellent! Now I have something to work on.

    To add to that, Emmerin, I read a quote by… I want to say Elder Bednar or Holland that basically said we should stop trying to be perfect now and instead focus on doing right today. And only today. Then tomorrow we can do it again. Perfection is achieved on a life-time pursuit of righteous goals and efforts, not a single instance of deciding to be perfect.

    On another vein, and something I find helpful, is something my track coach used to tell me: You can do anything for 30 seconds. The implication is, of course, that after you do one thing for 30 seconds, you can do it again for another 30 seconds. It was what pushed me through those long 5-milers in high school and it is what pushes me through painful, long experiences today.

Leave a Reply

