Christmas Blasphemy

I love Christmas. Always have. But I’m about to commit blasphemy….

I’m done.

I’m ready for the decorations, which have only been up nine days to be gone. Packages tied up with string? Gone. Silver bells? Gone. Deck the halls? Gone.

I don’t know how I forgot to post this, but we got a woodstove on the 29th of November. It dominates our living room. Completely. So we’re making changes to our living room. This piece of furniture goes downstairs, this one to some friends, this one is new…. Our living room is a disaster, which sets off my OCD and stresses me out. And there is nothing I can really do about it until Christmas is done.

Add to that that I’m hosting our company Holiday Party, which is easily the largest event I’ve ever coordinated with the biggest budget I’ve ever coordinated, and I’m done. I’m tired. I’m stressed. I’m Christmas’d-out.

There, I said it.

Courtney, in her graciousness, has agreed to join me in a purge this Saturday. Purges are when I go through the house “purging” it of messes, extra stuff, and so on. I do it because it keeps me sane. Frankly, we don’t have the room to handle everything otherwise, and the purges help kill off the clutter. We haven’t done one in almost two years because we took over the basement, which doubled our space. But it’s time.

My goal at this point is to get enough moved around, moved out, and organized so that I can handle it. So that I can make it through Christmas.

Sigh… There are days I ask when we’re going to be able to move on from our house. The answer is never right now, so we do what we must to keep ourselves happy and functional, right?

Drop in on Saturday and score yourself some really cool deals on things we’re getting rid of. And when I say “deal,” I mean free. 🙂

This entry was posted in Dave-isms, On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Blasphemy

  1. Sarah L. says:

    I know how you feel! Hope it goes well. 🙂

  2. daveloveless says:

    I know… seriously… 🙂

Leave a Reply

