Death of Hive 2

We had a really warm day before Thanksgiving (like mid-60s!), and I was able to get out and see the hives. I took two pictures which show perfectly the difference between Hive 1 and Hive 2.

That’s Hive 2 on the left. No bees. Not one. Hive 1 on the other hand is fairly active.

Hive 1 is closest in this picture. Notice the empty feeder? I put that on Hive 1 only four hours previously and it was full. And yes, that is just shy of a half-gallon feeder.

One of these days really soon I’m going to go and start taking apart Hive 2 to preserve the wax and honey. I keep delaying the inevitable because, frankly, I don’t want to do it.

On the happy side, my list of people I’ve pushed to become beekeepers just grew by another. I’ve pretty much convinced my boss to do it. 🙂

This entry was posted in Bees. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Death of Hive 2

  1. DWH says:

    Just watched The Bee Movie and so now I know ALL about bees and beekeeping! 🙂

  2. daveloveless says:

    Wow…. 🙂

    I haven’t seen that yet. I know I need to. Do you have it, or did you rent it? If you have it, I’d like to borrow it.

  3. Deborah Lewis says:

    That’s too bad. Hopefully the next time around will be much better….?

Leave a Reply

