A Tunnel Wish

Yesterday we went for a long drive in the evening. The day was feeling… wasted. It’s the wrong word, but I could spend the rest of the night searching for the right one. We did a lot yesterday; heck, I even took my dad out to the hives, which is something I’ve wanted to do for a while. We didn’t touch Hive 1, but we journeyed a bit into Hive 2 to put in the Hopsguard Mite Strips. Fun stuff, and my dad got to see them on a very calm day. (And yes, I suppose I’ll have to do an inspection report in the next day or two….)

After that, we joined my parents at Chuck-a-rama for lunch, which Myron kept calling Chuck-a-grandma. Somehow I see that name sticking….

But the day just felt… lost. As though I hadn’t done anything. So we went for a late evening drive up the canyon to enjoy the twilight and then on a drive past the temple and the big houses on the mountain side to see the city lights at night. It was good for us, and Courtney and I talked a lot while the kids played in the background and Myron identified every house of even moderate size as a “castle.”

In the canyon, though, we played a game that we pulled from the Tiny Toons Movie–How I Spent My Summer Vacation. In that show, a family favorite growing up, there is a scene where the vacationing family has to hold their breath through the tunnel in order to get a wish. The tunnel is, of course, 20 or 30 miles long, and we get to watch the family members turn first red, then dark red, then on to other violent shades of color. When they finally exhale coming out of the tunnel, the car explodes of course.

The family guest didn’t make it, and as he is teased that he doesn’t get his wish, he points out that the family didn’t get theirs either. They respond in unison, “Of course we did! We wished to be a happy family forever and ever!”

It’s meant to be a gag moment, and it is. But we played that with Katherine tonight with Myron shouting at the top of his lungs through the tunnel as though we were plunging down a cliff. As we pulled out, Katherine announced that she wanted a new princess table and mirror to replace the one that we tried to make her birthday. I, of course, immediately thought back to Tiny Toons and the gag moment.

Except it wasn’t so “gag” anymore.

It’s exactly what I want.

As we drove among the big houses on the hill, Katherine pointed out that it’d be fun to have one and that she wished we lived in one. I totally agree, of course, but we took the time to bear testimony to her that the Lord had asked us to live where we live and that we had chosen to obey.

Had we gone through another tunnel at that moment, I would have wished that she could understand that as it should be understood; that obedience is greatest and more important than our own personal desires.

No tunnel needed. Her reply was that we should do what the Lord wants. And she even went on to talk about how much she liked our house.

And then putting them to bed, kneeling in a circle in the living room for family prayer, and opening my eyes knowing as I always do that Myron would be inches from my face, staring at me with a huge grin, expecting me to wrestle with him as we always do.

Isn’t knowledge grand? Especially when it is based on such profoundly simple and yet eternal things like relationships, family, and testimony? Isn’t it grand to know, to literally know what we know?

And if I drove through another tunnel right now, I wouldn’t have anything to wish for.

I already have it.

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Tunnel Wish

Leave a Reply

