Debt cuts, job acts, and so forth

I’ve avoided this conversation on the blog for a while now. I just know well enough to step back from some lines of conversation when I know I’m just going to get annoyed.

But here’s a brief recap of my current feelings:

I’m a little tired of the “rich don’t pay their fair share” argument. They pay more than you and I do. What’s a fair share?

It seems this little argument could be solved quite nicely by going to a tiered flat tax. Put it this way: You make $10,000 a year, you pay X%. If you make $100,000 a year, you pay Y%. If you make $1,000,000 a year, you pay Z%. No credits. No deductions. It doesn’t matter where the income comes from, if you make it, that’s what you pay. Period.

That alone would save me $300 every year from paying an accountant to manage my taxes for me. I could handle that.

It’s also been proven that going to a tiered flat tax would allow for overall lower tax rates for everyone as opposed to just those who itemize. Sounds like a deal to me.

***

I’m VERY tired of the posturing. One side refuses to budge on issue A if issue B isn’t cut as well. The other side refuses to budge on issue B if issue C isn’t cut as well. Seriously?

Let’s try this on for size…. There is actually a fairly large number of things that we all agree on. Pass those. Get them done and out the door. Will they be enough to turn everything around? No, they will not. Will they at least get us started? Yes, the will.

So do them.

Save these sticky issues that no one is willing to compromise on for a later time. This would include issues like Medicare/Medicaid, tax increases on the wealthy, and Obamacare. We can come back to those and battle it out once we start moving.

***

I find it funny that just a few weeks after forestalling a default on the debt by the skin of our teeth, Obama proposes a jobs stimulus that will cost $500 billion. Sigh… Sorry, but I haven’t forgotten the loose strings of the past decade that quickly. Yes, something needs to be done, but I have yet to hear a credible plan to pay for that.

***

No, counting on savings from the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan is not a legitimate budgeting exercise. I’d find greater comfort in just sitting back and hoping that inflation eventually makes our debt meaningless.

***

Speaking of inflation, I can’t help but think that it’s coming. The S&P farce of a downgrade in our credit rating was a fairly serious warning shot across the bow. Combine that with credit complications in the Euro Zone, and I think it is just a matter of time.

People keep looking to China to step in and save the world economy without recognizing that, as strong as that economy is, it is still just a paper tiger. China’s not going to do any saving.

Nope… I feel this is the long haul. It’s a price that needs to be paid, we can pay it if we just sit down and do it, and whether we want to or not, we’re going to get to.

***

Nosurfgirl postulated on a recent visit that Obama is the wrong president for the current time and that he would/could have been a great president in another time. Remember, she’s a big Obama fan.

As I thought over the comment, I actually have to agree with it. Obama is not a crisis president. Eisenhower was a crisis president. JFK was a crisis president. Reagan was a crisis president. Lincoln was a crisis president. Carter was not. And Obama is not.

He’s a solid leader who is unfortunately struggling to keep up with the crisis of the moment.

I wish him well. I especially wish that he would, as they say in India, do the needful and move out most of his current advisers. He is surrounded by people who aren’t giving him the information and advice he desperately needs.

***

And now the thing that got me thinking about this whole thing…

I was reading in the Book of Mormon this morning. 3 Nephi 24:10-12. You’ll recognize, of course, that these verses are quite similar to verses found in Malachi.

10 Bring ye all the atithes into the storehouse, that there may be bmeat in my house; and prove me now herewith, saith the Lord of Hosts, if I will not open you the cwindows of heaven, and pour you out a dblessingthat there shall not be room enough to receive it.

 11 And I will rebuke the adevourer for your sakes, and he shall not destroy the fruits of your ground; neither shall your vine cast her fruit before the time in the fields, saith the Lord of Hosts.

 12 And all nations shall call you blessed, for ye shall be a delightsome land, saith the Lord of Hosts.

A couple thoughts struck me while I read those verses:

  • Imagine a nation that tithed. The US, according to the 2010 census, had roughly 119,000,000 households of which the median income was $49,445. Do the math, and you end up with a national income of $2,313,955,000,000. Yes, that is $2.3TT. Our national budget is currently $1.4TT. Imagine if our nation tithed….
  • Imagine if our nation tithed. Would we have poor among us? Would, as the scriptures say, “the devourer” be rebuked? How would the devourer be rebuked? Could it not be rebuked out of our own ability to rebuke it? The Lord’s promise here is one of those ones that is a natural consequence of our own obedience. That doesn’t deny, of course, that He would certainly bless us. But if we simply obeyed this principle as a nation, we would be based simply because we obeyed it in addition to the outpouring of divine blessings.

And then I look at verse 12. Imagine if our nation tithed…. We would be a blessed land. A rich land. A holy land. A land with no poor among us, where we had the resources to truly bless not only ourselves but the entire world. And our prosperity would continue upward, forward, onward.

Sigh….

I like that ideal. I like the ideal that I could willingly give 10% of my income freely with no strings attached. I especially like the ideal that I could do so and trust that our leaders would treat that money as a sacred trust to bless and lift all of us.

If only it were so.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Debt cuts, job acts, and so forth

  1. Pingback: Arguments I’m Tired of Hearing; Episode #389567 « Marty Andrade

Leave a Reply

