Memorial September 11

Where was I…. I was standing on the mat in my gymnastics class. I remember it as clear as day. Most of that day comes back to me vividly. The news, the somberness, the special devotional in the Marriot Center with Elder Bateman. The phone call to my brother. The watching, the waiting, the wondering.

I still don’t like to think about it, but I’ve taken time in the last few weeks to relive some of what we all experienced. It’s finally moving far enough away that I can think about it again. Maybe even talk about it.

I find it hard to believe that it’s been ten years. Kind of like I find it especially hard to believe that this December will be seventy years since Pearl Harbor.

As these and other events move more distant, they become bearable. Supportable. Tolerable in my conscious.

I hope that doesn’t come with a sense of apathy.

Remember.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memorial September 11

  1. marlajayne says:

    Beautiful. Brief but stirring.

Leave a Reply

