Movie Reviews: Rango, Gnomeo and Juliet

Let’s get Rango out of the way real fast.

I didn’t like it. One star out of four. Give it a pass.

I think a coworker summed it up best when he said that the writers obviously had no clue what kind of movie they were writing. I would some it up by saying I’m tired of movies that have no other purpose but to see Johnny Depp play yet another weirdo on screen. Enough… Please….

Now Gnomeo and Juliet….

The Good

I readily admit that I was doubtful when Courtney brought this home. I remember seeing the trailers and not thinking it looked great. Glad to know I was wrong.

I am a big lover of Romeo and Juliet. I find it utterly fascinating the varied and plentiful ways in which people have modifying the script again and again. My favorite version ever was the Leonardo di Caprio version (I know… so sue me). Another coworker stated that if Shakespeare had had a video camera instead of a stage, that’s the version he would have created, and I frankly have to agree. It’s an incredible story, and the film makes it incredibly powerful.

But that’s not what we watched on Friday….

This version immediately takes its place in the upper echelons of adaptations. I loved it. The story was fun–a bit unusual–but fun. The characters played well off of each other, and the storyline was genuinely interesting. The comedy was fun, too. Unlike Rango, my children never looked to me for answers or interpretation either, which is awesome.

I think my favorite thing about this version is the voice actors. Check out that list of voice actors when you roll the credits.

And the flamingo. That is a fun story.

The Bad

About my only complaint was the build up of expected anticipation. They try to hide it and build it in a way that makes you sincerely question whether they are staying true to the original, but in the end, they don’t. It just kind of didn’t work.

Conclusion

Ding, ding! We have a winner. Go see it. Rent it. If you have young kids, buy it. If you are a Shakespeare lover, you will laugh and laugh over all the subtle and not-so-subtle references (house divided being one of my most favorite). It’s safe for the kids, safe for the family, and genuinely enjoyable for the adults.

When you throw it in direct comparison to Rango, it’s easy to score this a perfect four out of four.

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Movie Reviews: Rango, Gnomeo and Juliet

  1. Travis says:

    While I can’t quite go for your 1 out of 4 score with Rango, I will admit, I was not really a fan. I appreciated Rango more than I liked it. The story is actually a direct take on Chinatown, right down to several characters saying some of the same lines. The animation, especially of the snake, was amazing, but at the end, I was not really a fan. I would say 2 out of 4.
    As for Gnomeo, I haven’t seen it yet. I may rent it and listen to it because I like Mcavoy and Blunt, but I am the opposite of you- I hate the story of Romeo and Juliet with a passion.

Leave a Reply

