Neck Pain, Headaches, and Muscle Tension

Remember the car accident from two years ago? Remember how hopeful I was then?

Sadly nothing much happened for it. Not that the physical therapy didn’t help, but it just didn’t fix it long-term. Nope, over the last year, my muscle tension headaches have increased from weekly to twice-a-week to, at times, daily. Over Christmas, I had a muscle tension headache that, with only occasional breaks, lasted roughly three weeks. That happened again in January.

It has been so bad of late, that I had finally resigned myself to a life of pain, daily massages from Courtney to try and head them off, and inability to do some of those physical things I really wanted to do.

And then my work offered free massages, and I signed up for the second to last spot.

When the day of my massage came, the masseuse worked me over and then came around in front of the chair, knelt down, and had a very frank conversation with me. To paraphrase, she wondered why I would ever choose to live with that much pain. She chastised me for not fixing this. And she ended by virtually begging me to go see a chiropractor.

So I did, and that has made all the difference.

I didn’t know it, but I don’t have a curve in the spine in my neck. It’s straight as a board. I also have a pinched vertebra that is causing referred pain. This referred pain (pain that is caused in spot A but felt in spot B) is responsible for the muscle tension I’ve been feeling in my shoulders and back. For the last two weeks, the chiropractor has been working me over to try and restore the curve in my neck and unpinch the vertebra, and it’s working! Blessed relief, it’s working!

I have now gone almost two full weeks without a tension headache. Yes, I’ve had other headaches related to the adjustments and changes, but it’s been two weeks since I’ve had a debilitating, day ending headache. I feel stronger, I feel better, I feel happier. Oddly enough, I feel slightly taller, too. 🙂 I had to adjust all the mirrors in the car to account for the change in angle when I sit.

And my only complaint is that I waited ten years…. I’ve had these headaches for ten years now, and I’m only now finding relief. If you’re a sufferer of tension headaches, don’t make the same mistakes I did. Find relief now. Explore all of those options even if you think they won’t help.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Neck Pain, Headaches, and Muscle Tension

  1. Sarah L. says:

    That’s great news! 😀

  2. It means less chafing on my elbows from having to use them to break up the knots in his back! 😀

  3. Migraine suffer more than 15% of the global population and it is due to the different situations that people go during life. The pain of this disease can be controlled quickly because it can cause various people effects.

    Controlledsubstances.net

Leave a Reply

