Running and the Fence

Hmmm… If I ever do become a famous writer, I promise to write a book for charity named Running and the Fence…. It’s a good title.

So this post is a two-parter inspired first by something Katherine said during Family Home Evening last night. We had a lesson on Following Christ, and at one point, we were talking about Christ’s behavior and how we should try to emulate His behavior in our life. For Katherine, we find it best to propose a hypothetical situation and ask her how Christ would respond. One of her responses got me thinking.

The hypothetical we threw at her was what would Jesus do if He saw someone fall on their bike. Katherine’s response was that the first thing He would do would be to run as fast as He could to the person. This was followed by hugs, kisses, and other comfort for the injured person, but I really caught on to that idea of running.

I don’t know that we can necessarily picture the Savior running. It seems so… un-Savior-ish. So ungodlike. And yet, isn’t that exactly what He would do? I don’t care to expound too much more on the idea, but I think it is helpful to remember that His response to a need is often first a run. A sprint. And while He may not remove the pain (Katherine didn’t say, after all, that He would heal the hurts), He would certainly always offer at least the awareness and comfort that only He can provide.

It’s nice to know our Savior runs.

The second part was an update on the fence.

I went back to Lowes (never Home Depot) and returned all the old fence stuff. I just can’t do it by myself. We then wandered the store for 30 minutes looking at options before settling on hand building a six-foot wood privacy fence. My friend will, of course, be building the fence. I recognize my inadequacies in this area and his expertise, and I’m more than willing to set up a win-win arrangement for the two of us. I get a fence–he gets paid. Done.

The fence took two trips to haul all the materials, and on our second trip, we wandered a little more to make sure that we had everything we would need. My friend mentioned that the job would go much faster with a staple gun, so we found ourselves wandering amongst the power tools. And this is where we turned the win-win into a win-win-win-win situation.

My friend pointed out a nice set of three tools (staple gun, nail gun, and a finishing nail gun) that came with an air compressor. Total price: About $250. I wasn’t willing, at first, to pay for the tool, but my friend pointed out that he’d gladly accept the tool as payment for his services. We had planned on spending about $200 for his labor, but I realized that by buying him the tool, he’d be happier (win), we’d get our fence done even faster (win), and we’d pay only slightly more than we had planned. On his side, his effect hourly rate goes up because he can get the job done that much faster (win), and he gets a really cool tool (win).

And to add another bonus on top of it all, we’re probably going to ask him to help us refinish our backroom, and because we bought the three pack of tools, he has all the tools to help us do that job even faster and of better quality. Win. He was so excited to get the tool that his toes drug lightly across the ground the rest of the evening as he floated around the store. 🙂

Today, if the rain cooperates, should see the post holes dug and, possibly, a few of the posts set in concrete. He should finish that tomorrow. Then he’ll start hanging rails and, in a frenzied blur of happy nail gun joy, he’ll start hanging slats at near blinding speed. Friday, if needed, will be final touch up.

For my part, I’ll be building the cinder block wall today (if the rain cooperates). After that, the only thing I have left to do is build a platform for the bees. And then wait as impatiently as I’ve ever waited for anything in my life.

FOUR DAYS UNTIL THE BEES ARRIVE!!!

This entry was posted in Bees, On the Home Front, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running and the Fence

  1. aleisha says:

    did your beehives come built or did you have to build them? your friends new tool would come in handy for that, too!

    i caught a swarm fri/sat. of course it was an horrible experience. because everything i do with bees is the wrong way first so i can teach by how NOT to do something!

    got my nuc sat. as well, but haven’t even had time to transfer it to a hive because of this nasty weather….i hope they all survive…i may be the worst/unluckiest/most knowledgeable beekeeper out there:)

  2. daveloveless says:

    They came built. I thought about building them myself, but I recognize my horrid weakness at wood working. I’m truly terrible. Why subject myself and the bees to my lack of skill? 🙂

    I’m thinking of trying for a swarm next year or the year after. How did it go bad? Need details!

Leave a Reply

