Conference Thoughts

I am trying to remember a conference where I took more insight and direction from what I heard. Here are just a few of the thoughts that came to me:

  • President Uchtdorf’s comment about turning our switches to “do it now” really resonated with me.
  • I need to be more faithful in temple attendance.
  • I need to do a better job of telling Courtney I love her and of acting the part. I was so touched by Elder Scott’s account of his relationship with his wife. I want that.
  • I was deeply impressed by how much the Lord loves us.
  • I very much enjoyed the emphasis on children during the Saturday Morning session. The story of the young girl who saw angels was very moving for me.
  • I need to do a better job of understanding priesthood keys. It seems that no matter how much I learn or think I know, there is more to treasure and love. President Eyring’s talk, along with Elder Gibson’s, was particularly powerful for this topic.
  • I loved Elder Holland’s insight into some of the behind-the-scenes activity that happens with conference talks, and the speaker before him, who spoke on the Atonement, gave one of the more enjoyable talks on that subject in recent memory.
  • Elder Snow gave one of the more inspiring talks on hope that I’ve heard in a while as well.
  • The “Be” and “Do” speaker (can’t remember his name right now) gave one of the most incredible talks on behavior, attitude, and parenting I can remember.
  • Coming away from the conference, I’m feeling the need to be more consistent in my actions, more driven in direction, and more faithful in teaching and leading my family. I noticed that many different speakers referred to dad as the head of the house and mom as the heart. Something to pay attention to.
  • I deeply appreciated President Monson’s talk on the temple. I admit that the temple is more often a fond goal than an actual action for us. No excuses, but the thought did come to me that we do what we value; I need to value the temple more.

So much more I could write, and yet I’m overwhelmed by what I already have. I suppose it’s a good thing to be overwhelmed by such as this. I’m very much looking forward to the upcoming Ensign and talks on CD.

This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conference Thoughts

  1. Sarah L. says:

    Maybe I felt this way last time too, but it was one of the best conferences ever! 😀

Leave a Reply

