New Laptop, Old Hardware

Can someone explain to me how the install disk for my digital camera, which I  bought back in 2003, still works on a Windows 7 machine but my scanner, which we got in 2008, does not? There aren’t even any drivers out there that allow the scanner to work on a Windows 7 machine.

If it were an off-brand of scanner, I would understand, but this is HP. As in one-of-Microsoft’s-major-partners-they-have-the-ability-to-do-this-easily HP.

Sigh… It was a very nice scanner that Courtney used for her art work. Much nicer than you’d get with a simple 3-in-1 printer/scanner/fax machine. I’m not looking forward to replacing it.

This entry was posted in Me and My 'Puter. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Laptop, Old Hardware

  1. DWH says:

    Dave, I MUST reply to this one.

    Can I say “PC” you should be on a Mac! And HP= Has Problems!

    David

  2. Sara C says:

    I conferred with the resident computer expert (aka, my husband Jacob) and he says that it’s likely that the driver disk was for Windows Vista or XP. For reasons yet to be explained to the computer world, both of those systems don’t get along with Windows 7. Good luck!

  3. daveloveless says:

    Thanks, Sara. That’s about what I figured….

    Ah, Dave…. I guess this means you wouldn’t be interested in a gentle used HP scanner then. 🙂

Leave a Reply

