Movie Review: Megamind

In a word: Hilarious.

The Good

I have been begging Courtney to get this one for weeks now. In fact, I’ve been scouring the local Red Box for a week straight hoping to get my hands on it. Why? I truly don’t know. I can’t stand Will Ferrell (one of the lead voice actors). I’m normally not a big fan of Shrek, the same company that made Megamind, and half a dozen other reasons. For all the anticipation, I should have been paying closer attention to the writing on the wall that said I wasn’t going to like it.

I’m glad I ignored the writing.

I thoroughly enjoyed the movie start to finish. The one-liners, the relationships, the self-conscious and inept super-villian…. I even really appreciated the plot twists with Metroman. Just funny stuff.

I won’t say too much more (mostly because I’m not sure how to describe my pleasure over this film), but I will say that no longer are the Incredibles the only super-hero show in town. Megamind gives them a solid run for their money.

The Bad

Hmm…. There was a touch of language, which I’m more sensitive to when watching a kid movie. That’s about it.

Conclusion

This is not the best film of the year. It has plot holes. It has miscues. That being said, it’s funny start to finish, interesting for both kids and adults, and a new family favorite.

Rating: 3.5 out of 4 stars and a solid BUY!

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Movie Review: Megamind

  1. Sarah L. says:

    Yay! I love Will Ferrell! I’m sure I will especially enjoy the movie. 😀

Leave a Reply

