Valentine’s Day 2011

I discovered some time ago that Schedule tool. That allows me to write something, set it to go live at a later time, and then schedule it. The post will publish on its own.

The big advantage to that today is that I can tell you all about what is about to happen without giving away my secret to Courtney…. hehehe

Courtney and I celebrated V-Day (not June 6th!) for the first year or two, but it kind of died off. Part of that is because I truly do despise this holiday. I’ve explained my reasons before and have no intention of doing so again, so….

But I’m thinking that after almost five years of not really celebrating the day, nothing would surprise her more than all of a sudden deciding to celebrate the day. I’m taking a half-day today, and I plan on sneaking home while she’s at the school picking up Katherine. That should give me just enough time to wrap the present I secretly bought her (a cover for her Kindle). Then, as soon as she gets home, we’re all going out to lunch.

It’s not a big thing, but after avoiding the day in large measure, it’ll seem huge. Oh, and Katherine really wants to go to the temple tonight for FHE. It promises to be super-crowded, but we’ll have to see if we can’t do just that. It’s supposed to be above 50 degrees today, and I’m quite eager to get out and enjoy the beautiful weather today.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms, Woman!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Valentine’s Day 2011

  1. Sarah L. says:

    That’s great! Can’t wait to hear how surprised she was. 😀

  2. Hehehe… I saw his car as the kids and I came home from school. Katherine also ratted him out when she walked by our bedroom door on the way to the bathroom. She apparently saw him crack the bedroom door open and peek out, then she looked at me, grinned and said, “Daddy is home!”

    The cover for my Kindle was a very nice surprise, as was his decision to stay home. The kids loved it.

    It’s good to be surprised sometimes. 🙂

  3. marlajayne says:

    Great post! What’s so cool about your gift is that you got something you knew she’d like and you also gave her something important: TIME. Both gifts are so much better than roses and candy.

Leave a Reply

