The Curse of the Annual Emergency

I have mentioned more than once that Courtney and I are cursed with an emergency every year. We find it funny because Dave Ramsey says that statistically every household in America will have a $4,000 emergency at least once every ten years. What Dave Ramsey didn’t mention is that Courtney and I are pulling much more than our fair share.

For the past many years, Courtney and I have had at least one $4,000 emergency annually, and often a conglomerate of multiple $1,000 emergencies in the same calendar year that add up to $4,000. The joke in our house is that our first New Year’s Resolution is that this will be the year, and we always jokingly celebrate the arrival of February as a good sign that we’re not going to have the emergency. Heck, just yesterday I blogged about how we were hopeful for this year.

And then I woke up this morning and took the car in for an oil change….

I think the curse started five years ago. It was then, just fresh out of college, that my car died after only three weeks at my new job. Total repair costs? $3,000.

The next year our emergency was a short stint on the unemployment line ($5,000 burned from our savings). After that came the roof repair ($4,200), followed in 2009 by the Great Furnace and Water Heater blow out ($3,900). Last year was Myron’s eye surgery ($3,000) and Courtney’s Wisdom Teeth Extraction Nightmare and Emergency Surgery ($1,200).

So how does it all start this year? Well our car just crossed 60,000 miles, and I asked the mechanic to do a brief look to see what else might be going out. To put it shortly, everything. When it comes to leaks, the Hoover Dam my car is not. I’ve seen tighter seals on a colander. Add in the brakes, the rotors, and the flushing of just about every fluid known, and you get a pretty pricey oil change.

It is work that must be done, and I’m actually okay with it. We haven’t had a car payment in two years (never plan on having another one), and paying $1,200 for the car repairs is much more valuable that paying $300+ monthly every month for a car payment.

And, looking on the bright side, technically we are still $2,800 under our annual emergency. That has to count for something.

This entry was posted in On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Curse of the Annual Emergency

  1. Laura G says:

    No! You’ll jinx it again!

    🙂

  2. Sarah L. says:

    Hahaha! I thought the same thing. “Don’t say that! You’ll jinx yourself!”

  3. daveloveless says:

    I know… So true.

    But I figured out a solution! We just need to start _planning_ on having the emergency every year. Then it can’t be an emergency, right?

    Actually, what’ll happen then is that we’ll just have _another_ emergency on top of the one we planned for….

  4. nosurfgirl says:

    Oh Dave. Dave.

    I sure hope you knocked on a bunch of wood after writing this.

    😀

  5. I think our current plan is good. No need to upset the status quo.

Leave a Reply

