New Calling

It always seems to happen this way….

Wednesday morning I was taking a shower, and the thought hit me that I was wonderfully satisfied with my current calling at church (Elders Quorum Instructor). I love it. It’s nice and laid back, I learn a lot, and it is something I truly enjoy. So I guess it should have come as no surprise when I got a call that evening from the bishop inviting me to meet with him for a new calling.

I’m always nervous with new callings, especially when I really enjoy the calling I have. I’ll even admit a certain trepidation at the idea of getting a calling that would be hard for me, know what I mean? I’m not afraid of a challenge, and I readily enjoy that aspect of callings, but there are certain callings that just make me cringe. And no, I’m not going to tell you what they are, lest I tempt the Lord…. 🙂

Anyway, my new calling is….

Sunday School President.

I’ve never done that, but it’s an area of great interest for me. I’m hopeful that I can do a good job for however long this calling happens to be mine. With the wards changing and absorbing the married student wards sometime this year, I can’t help but believe that this calling is fairly temporary at best.

Oh, and just for the record, I’m pretty sure I get to keep doing my other calling as well. I hope.

This entry was posted in On the Home Front, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

