A Belero Christmas

And so it goes…

I can’t help but think that the holiday season has once more come crashing down around us like Ravel’s Belero. For those of you familiar with the song, it repeats the same melody over and over each time building in expectation and power until, in the end, it all comes crashing down in a marvelous mutiny of climax. And such is Christmas for me.

Why the radio kills the music on the 26th is a mystery to me, but I, as guilty as the rest, buy into the near-instantaneous death of the season as much as the next… My own decorations are down by the end of the week, my own music stored away for the coming year, and the tinsel, bows, and ribbons hidden as carefully as they had been originally placed. Is it any wonder then that I find myself mourning that which was so freely cast aside?

Such is my Bolero Christmas. It’s always a treasure to hear and to witness, but as Shakespeare said so elegantly of the lightning: It ceases to be ere it lightens.

Though the tree will truly soon be down and dust will soon gather on the still new and therefore still precious gifts and memories of this season, I promise to take the time to remember the magic that it was, the spirit it still is, and especially the reason it happened in the first place.

Merry Christmas, my friends. Merry Christmas.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms, On the Home Front. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Belero Christmas

  1. nosurfgirl says:

    we leave ours up until new years 🙂 You forgot new years!

Leave a Reply

