Obama’s Speech on the Economy

You should be familiar with how I run these things now….

I used this site as my source for the transcript. Yeah, I’ve never heard of it either, but it was the only one that had the transcript up when I wanted to review it….

Speaker: President Obama

Date of speech: September 8, 2010

Location: Cleveland, Ohio

We also hoped [speaking of his last rally in Cleveland before the 2008 election] for a chance to get beyond some of the old political divides – between Democrats and Republicans, Red states and Blue states – that had prevented us from making progress. Because although we are proud to be Democrats, we are prouder to be Americans – and we believed that no single party has a monopoly on wisdom.

Wow… Such a bold statement when all the headlines I see on the net are how Obama plans to rail against Republicans. I’ll be interested to see how much of his speech is pandering versus actual progress. Somehow I doubt this president, or any politician for that matter, really cares all that much about removing those “political divides.”

Such an odd way to begin a speech by one of the most easily polarizing presidents ever.

Folks were forced to put more debt on their credit cards and borrow against homes that many couldn’t afford in the first place.

Really? I just happened to be alive during that time, and I didn’t do anything like that. I even was unemployed for a while in all of that…. Oh wait… I see the problem… “homes that many couldn’t afford in the first place.” Hmmmm….

Meanwhile, a failure to pay for two wars and two tax cuts for the wealthy helped turn a record surplus into a record deficit.

Would that be the record deficits you’ve turned in the last two years? The ones that were almost five times larger than the previous largest deficit in US history? Way to criticize the past without looking in the mirror. This is one reason I really struggle to support Obama. During the campaign, everything was “look forward! Hope! Change! Tomorrow will be better!!!” Now that he’s there, everything is “This isn’t my fault! Look what Bush did!” Sorry dude…. In all of Bush’s eight years, he didn’t drive us almost $3 trillion deeper in debt as you have in your first two.

Yes, our families believed in the American values of self-reliance and individual responsibility, and they instilled those values in their children. But they also believed in a country that rewards responsibility. A country that rewards hard work. A country built upon the promise of opportunity and upward mobility.

Really? Because most of your actions up until now have removed personal responsibility and self-reliance. Expansion of welfare, expansion of government-mandated health insurance, tax payer bailouts…. Rewards responsibility? Don’t make me laugh.

And there are roughly three million Americans who are working today because of the economic plan we put in place.

A number that is under debate and which, given the White House’s history of over-inflating those reports, is highly suspicious at best.

I also understand that in a political campaign, the easiest thing for the other side to do is ride this fear and anger all the way to Election Day.

By my count, that is the third direct attack against Republicans. So much for really wanting to work with the other side. Oh, and please recognize as well that you are doing the same thing.

A lot has changed since I came here [Cleveland] in those final days of the last election, but what hasn’t is the choice facing this country. It’s still fear versus hope; the past versus the future. It’s still a choice between sliding backward and moving forward. That’s what this election is about. That’s the choice you’ll face in November.

More debt versus fiscal responsibility. Out of control spending by your administration or the chance to reign that in. Continued missteps on  critical issues or the chance to try something different.

Got it.

I believe government should be lean.

What? Really? So who’s the guy in the White House ramping everything up than? Your evil twin?

But in the words of the first Republican President, Abraham Lincoln, I also believe that government should do for the people what they cannot do better for themselves.

That means making long-term investments in this country’s future that individuals and corporations cannot make on their own: investments in education and clean energy; in basic research, technology, and infrastructure.

You know, I actually agree with this, but let’s talk about what this actually means. Does this statement mean government-mandated health care? In my opinion, no. Absolutely not. Does it mean providing infrastructure like roads, rail lines, power grids. Yes. Does it mean providing opportunities for technological advancement? Sure, I can buy that on some levels, but I oppose the carte blanche approach to subsidization this country has taken. It seems that just about anything can be subsidized right now, and I’m a strong believer that any truly valuable industry will likely find its own footing and means of survival. This reminds me of the ethanol subsidies of yesteryear and the joke that turned out to be. No, subsidies and that kind of support from the  government should not be provided for just any reason, and I’d even argue that it should be strictly limited.

With all the other budgetary pressures we have – with all the Republicans’ talk about wanting to shrink the deficit – they would have us borrow $700 billion over the next ten years to give a tax cut of about $100,000 to folks who are already millionaires.

More of a general response to each of the comparisons, but for someone so versed in law, the number of fallacies he threw out in those statements is ludicrous. Incredible. And it speaks to my thought the he really does try to target the uneducated masses of American voters.

Let’s be clear here: I believe that the overwhelming majority of Americans are uneducated voters who either vote a party line or vote based on gut impressions without giving due concern to the issues. Let’s also be clear that I think these people are a significant portion of what is wrong with American politics today.

This majority holds so much power because of their numbers, and more often than not, they are swayed by the fear mongering of both sides. Obama would have us believe that the Republicans are going to make the rich richer and crush the middle class. Republicans would have us believe that Obama and the Democrats are going to take our money and give it to everyone else. But is either option really fully valid? And yet, if you did an informal survey on the masses, would it shock you to find that that is probably fairly close to what many of them think?

In the 2008 election, Obama rallied the masses and built an unstoppable machine that led to huge Democratic victories across the board. He did it by abusing this majority of uneducated politically lazy voters, and he’s doing it again. In the sake of honesty, so are the Republicans. Why? Because it works. Period. That’s politics for you.

It’s unfortunate that most of us are so blinded by the fallacies thrown around us to see the truth or even give the proper time to study it out.

This isn’t to punish folks who are better off – it’s because we can’t afford the $700 billion price tag.

We can’t afford a $700 billion price tag over 10 years, but we can afford the $1+ trillion deficits you gave us the last two years and will continue to give us over the next several years? Really? I’m not saying I agree with or oppose the tax cuts on the rich, I’m just saying that you’re pulling a fantastic non sequitur there and people are buying your garbage!!!

And speaking of fallacies…

We see an America where a growing middle-class is the beating heart of a growing economy. That’s why I kept my campaign promise and gave a middle-class tax cut to 95% of working Americans. That’s why we passed health insurance reform that stops insurance companies from jacking up your premiums at will or denying you coverage just because you get sick. That’s why we passed financial reform that will end taxpayer-funded bailouts; reform that will stop credit card companies and mortgage lenders and Wall Street banks from taking advantage of taxpayers and consumers.

Okay, let’s see here…

  • The middle-class is the beating heart of the economy, a principle I agree with by the way, so…
  • You cut taxes on 95% of working Americans which raised the deficit. That deficit adds to the growing debt, which will soon have an interest payment that annually consumes more of our total annual expenditures than any other area of the entire national budget. Way to go! I get pennies today so that my children can die under that burden.
  • You passed health insurance that the majority of Americans didn’t want which, as of this year, has been at least somewhat responsible for the 14% increase in employee contributions to health care plans. So much for that tax cut.
  • Oh… so now the tax payer bailouts you ordered aren’t going to happen anymore. Well, at least there’s that….
  • And I honestly can’t argue with the reform for credit card companies, although I’ll readily admit my inherent and extreme bias against credit card companies.

And finally, we see an America where we refuse to pass on the debt we inherited to the next generation.

I recognize that I’m jumping the gun and not letting him outline is plan, but I’m quite interested to see how he plans to do that. Seriously. Currently over 25% of every single dollar in the national debt has Obama’s name stamped on it. That’s not opinion, it’s fact. And that number is slated to grow substantially over the next 10 years. So you’re going to take care of that before you leave office?

Like I said, I’m interested to see that.

But let’s look at the facts. When these same Republicans – including Mr. Boehner – were in charge, the number of earmarks and pet projects went up, not down. These same Republicans turned a record surplus that Bill Clinton left into a record deficit. Just this year, these same Republicans voted against a bipartisan fiscal commission that they themselves proposed. And when you ask them what programs they’d actually cut, they usually don’t have an answer.

That’s not fiscal responsibility. That’s not a serious plan to govern.

Okay, so let’s really look at the facts: The LARGEST Bush deficit ever was in 2008 for a little over $400 billion. That’s a lot. The SMALLEST Obama deficit so far is this year at a projected $1.2 to 1.4 trillion. That’s over three times more than the largest Bush deficit, which was, at the time, also the largest deficit ever. So what if the number of earmarks were higher?!?! Why did the Republicans vote down on the bipartisan fiscal commission? Instead of just saying they did, explain why they did.

And not fiscal responsibility? I’m sorry, sir, but you are NOT qualified to render any opinion on fiscal responsibility, something this nation needs a lot more than universal health care.

But I am absolutely committed to fiscal responsibility.

HA!!! No you’re not. You couldn’t get away with that anymore than Geithner couldn’t get away calling US debt secure in China.

But you didn’t elect me to do what’s easy. You didn’t elect me to just read the polls and figure out how to keep myself in office. You didn’t elect me to avoid big problems. You elected me to do what’s right. And as long as I’m President, that’s exactly what I’ll do.

Okay, I admit this one is just snippy, but I get so annoyed at Obama. For me, you could have ended that statement after the fifth word. Of course, I didn’t vote for the other guy either. And just for the record, I don’t trust you when you say that you’ll do what is right because with few exceptions, you haven’t.

I will state, however, that I honestly believe that you do believe you are doing right. And I think that’s what is so scary to me. You’re so focused on these myopic goals that you’re failing to see the wake of damage, particularly to the national debt, that you are leaving behind you.

And that’s the end (He closed the speech with the normal stuff you see in any political speech).

Thoughts? Well, I wrote the day after his election that he could earn my support. Since then, he has systematically proven time and time again that I won’t be giving him any support. More than that, however, is that I’m more motivated today to actively campaign against him than I’ve ever been, and I am reinforced in my belief of the extreme danger he is to this nation.

In February of this year, I challenged anyway to justify why they voted for Obama. I’m still waiting for even a single response, and the longer I wait, the more I doubt there is any reason that stands up to the mess of these last two years. I’m sure there were valid reasons then, and even I admit to buying into a little bit of that “hopey, changey” message, but now? I can’t look back and see any reason that has stood the test of time.

This entry was posted in Dave-isms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

