Review: Terminator Salvation

The Good

I was excited when I found out this wasn’t rated R. I have seen the first two on TV, so picking up the series again was attractive to me. Plus, I’m fast becoming a Sam Worthington fan. Christian Bale was already on my list, though I don’t much care for the “I’m an angry person” role he primarily displayed in this film. Anyway….

Fun movie. Solid action through out, and just enough additional detail on the back story to keep me very interested and happy. I was glad to finally see a Terminator film that was set in the future, ruined Earth, but I’m a big fan of the post-apocalyptic genre.

Courtney and I laughed outright at the numerous tributes to the previous films, and most especially at the appearance of certain well-known, albeit computer-generated, figure. That had so much potential for outright failure, but it worked and worked well.

I don’t remember much language, though the film is intense enough to qualify for some of those standards. And no sex.

The Bad

I thought the very end was kind of cheesy, but it tied directly to the start. Not sure if either really progressed the film, though it created a silent expectation of danger and intensity that I enjoyed. I guess I’m not sure the end really expanded and improved the overall effect of the opening scenes, but….

Other than that, I’m not sure I would complain too much.

Conclusion

Solid film. Not an Indiana Jones by any means, but as far as action and adventure goes, it was one that we both thought pleasing and a good continuation of that particular series. We’d certainly watch it again without needing the sometimes-mandatory wait of several months to make it interesting once more.

3.5 out of 4 stars.

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

