Movie Review: Clash of the Titans

One of these days I’ll learn that a flashy movie trailer does not make a great movie….

The Good

Uh… You know what, special effects just aren’t enough justification anymore to go see a movie. Sure there are still some wonders out there, like Avatar, with special effects that are just astounding, but the stuff we saw in Titans was just run of the mill stuff.

Speaking of Avatar, I like the main character from both that movie and Titans. I’m not sure why, but he just seems genuine to me.

Let’s see…. Then again, let’s not.

The Bad

Some movies should be remade, and when they are, they are incredible. Some movies should not. The nostalgia and excellence of the first Titans was readily apparent when compared directly with the modern version. Where the original had gripping and staying power, the second will fade into obscurity as just another adventure film in a long line of adventure films that didn’t quite matter.

It wasn’t necessarily anything that the second film did wrong either, but rather what it just didn’t do at all. It didn’t interest. It didn’t grab. It didn’t hold. It didn’t nothing.

Maybe more importantly, it missed every stereotypical interpretation I’ve ever had of the Greek Gods. You look at Hades for example, and I’m not impressed. Now Disney’s Hades from Hercules… that one works for me and works well. In fact, I think that’s the standard by which I will judge all other interpretations of Hades.

Ah well…

Conclusion

The only saving grace for me is that we only spent $1 from Redbox. Courtney was really surprised it was available so soon after release to Redbox (Tuesday), and I told her that it probably sucked. If I had only known then that I wasn’t joking but prophesying.

1.5 out of 4 stars and a strong don’t bother. If you really want to catch all the special effects, just go watch the trailer. They’re all there.

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movie Review: Clash of the Titans

  1. nosurfgirl says:

    I am soooo dissappointed.

    Honestly, I think Jeff and I will have to watch it anyway, just because the anticipation was so intense. we’re just going to have to suffer through it.

    Maybe with low expectations the movie will be better?

  2. Courtney Loveless says:

    I think the part that was the most disappointing for me was the way they tweaked the plot.

    I can deal with most plot tweaks when I see the way they are integrated into the movie, but these ones were pretty heinous.

    They completely altered the movie and after a while you found yourself having to think back to the start of the movie to try and figure out why someone was doing what they were doing and were it all fit into the plot.

    I won’t argue that some of the things that are encountered in the original may seem a little far-fetched, but at least they further the plot along and stay consistent with the genre. Which, sadly, I can’t say for this new version.

Leave a Reply

