Review: Winco, part II

In May, I gave my initial rating and review of the new Winco grocery store. Time for part II….

As I suspected, the initial prices were artificially low. My guess is that this was to attract, and capture, new customers. It’s not really something I can argue against simply because that is a solid business practice. At the same time, it’s somewhat ethically gray to me, almost like a little white lie.

I’m sure the majority of people haven’t even noticed, but that’s why my little OCD brain and number thing is here for you. 🙂 Here’s a couple changes to illustrate what I’m seeing at my local Winco:

  • Granola Bars
    • Sams Club price: $1.92 for 10 (the sell them in much large packs, but that’s the equivalent)
    • Wal-Mart price: $1.98 for 10
    • Original Winco price: $1.88
    • Current Winco price: $2.26

Not such a bargain anymore, is it? And lest that be the only example:

  • Generic nacho chips
    • Original Winco price: $0.88
    • Current Winco price: $1.98
  • Butter (cheapest brand)
    • Sams Club: $1.92 per pound
    • Original Winco price: $1.78 per pound
    • Current Winco price: $2.12 per pound

I could, of course, go on with several other examples. Generally what I’m seeing is that the prices are slowly and steadily increasing by about 20%. The end result is that Winco is still a fun store to shop at but their prices are no longer low enough to justify only shopping there.

There are, as always some exceptions. Winco is still the cheapest we’ve found for things like yogurt, specialty cheeses (bulk cheese is cheaper at Sams), diapers, and so on, but many of their other products are quickly diminishing in value.

New rating: I’ll give it 3 out of 4 for their bulk section and the principle of no credit cards, but I can’t honestly say they are the best deal in town anymore. Nope, that distinction comes back to Wal-mart I think.

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: Winco, part II

  1. nosurfgirl says:

    I’m one who benefits from others’ OCD in this case. I have little time and energy to price compare in such a way… so thanks.

    What are your opinions of the bulk goods? Are they still a good price? I LOVE that I’ve been able to find both brown sushi rice and brown basmati rice, there! But I cant’ justify making a trip for just those two things.

  2. daveloveless says:

    Honestly? If you have a Sams or Costco card, most bulk stuff is going to be cheaper there. If you don’t need to buy enough to justify a bulk purchase, Winco is still pretty comparable. We still use Winco (and will continue to use Winco) for most bulk purchases.

  3. aleisha says:

    you have actual data to prove it, trav and i have just an impression about it, but have come to the same conclusion. they have tillamook ice cream (to die for creamy) so for special treats we might drive the extra distance but really their loss leaders aren’t enough to get us in there to regularly shop.

Leave a Reply

