Movie Review: How to Train Your Dragon

Would it be fair to say that I came into this movie as a Shrek disliker? I won’t say hate because the truth is that I didn’t hate those films. Rather, I dislike the bathroom humor. So I wasn’t expecting much from this film by the same company.

I should also point out that this was the first time that any of our kids have ever been to a movie theater and the first time that Courtney and I had been in almost two years. We were shopping Saturday morning and I happened to notice that it was playing the dollar theater. Why not?

The Good

Let’s see if I can do this without giving away too much….

I LOVED THIS MOVIE!!!

Too much? Yeah, I thought so.

Katherine complained of it being a little too scary, which for a five-year-old is probably true. The dragons are both very active and very aggressive, and they are truly monsters. But they are also very much a joy to watch and look at, and they become much less frightening as the film continues.

The main character, Hiccup, is a treasure. His one-liners are such that a child would miss them outright, but Courtney and I spent much of the movie with silly grins on our faces. He’s also someone that Katherine connected to easily enough and, always a treat, someone who we wouldn’t mind her hanging out with if he were a real person.

Let’s see… Honestly, the story line was strangely compelling. Oh, I have my big complaint (coming in The Bad section), but it held the attention span of my entire family. And I am soooo trying not to give away too much more right now just in case you haven’t seen it.

Last thing… There were moments where I honestly caught myself watching especially close to see if the scenes were real shots as opposed to computer generated. The technology has come that far and is that good anymore.

The Bad

My only real complaint is the storyline. Can you say Bugs Life but with dragons? The similarities, especially in basic character development, is obscene, and I can only call this a remake. Still, as far as remakes go, I would much rather watch this one over Bugs Life. Nothing against the original of course, but Dragon was better.

Conclusion

Uh…. Buy? Four stars? Yes, yes, and yes?

For the first film in the theater for my little family, we sure picked a winner. I was nervous going in but left thrilled with what we had seen. From the story line to the characters to the filming… Excellent. Wonderful. Pleasing.

And yes, we will be looking to buy it when it comes out on DVD.

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Movie Review: How to Train Your Dragon

  1. Sarah L. says:

    Awesome! Good to know. 😀

  2. aleisha says:

    Hi Dave, Courtney, Katherine, Myron,

    We miss ya’ll. Have I ever told you what a great Elder’s quorum president and friend you were/are to Trav? I need to just remind you now…thanks for that and for taking Trav as he is/was. We miss that type of acceptance that Provo ward had for people:) freakin SLC suburbs…

    and it is nice to hear from you again….especially on something as important as a movie:)

    we are doing okay…starting school and work next week….

    love,
    aleisha

  3. daveloveless says:

    Well thanks, Aleisha. I really appreciate that. It’s hard not to take Travis as he is. Well, at least for me it is. He’s an honest and careful person that is genuine in every way.

    You both were good for us as well, especially Courtney. One of these days we need to get up there and say hi.

  4. Travis says:

    Thanks for the kind words above.
    Also- HTTYD was your first film with your family and the last one with mine. I was glad that we all really enjoyed iit as well. We saw it in 3D in a theater in Norman, Oklahoma and all were really impressed.
    I was planning on telling you to rent it, but, seeing as how it doesnt hit DVD for 2 more months (October 15th) I figured I still had time.

Leave a Reply

